Frank Zappa - Sleep Dirt (1979/2021) [Official Digital Download 24/192]

Posted By: pyatak
Frank Zappa - Sleep Dirt (1979/2021) [Official Digital Download 24/192]

Frank Zappa - Sleep Dirt (1979/2021) [Official Digital Download 24/192]
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Front Cover | Time - 39:11 minutes | 1,95 GB
Rock, Jazz Rock, Progressive Rock | Label: Frank Zappa Catalog, Official Digital Download

Sleep Dirt is an album by Frank Zappa released in January 1979, on his own DiscReet Records label. It reached #175 on the Billboard 200 album chart in the United States. Zappa's original title for the album was Hot Rats III.

Songs on this album were recorded between 1974 and 1976. The initial 1979 LP release of Sleep Dirt was entirely instrumental.

In 1982, Zappa asked singer Thana Harris to add her vocals to three songs from this album: "Flambay", "Spider of Destiny", and "Time is Money". Harris sings the part of a character named "Drakma: Queen of Cosmic Greed" created by Zappa in 1972 for the stage musical Hunchentoot, which never materialized. Zappa stated in a 1992 interview that the vocal versions were the way that he originally intended to record them, but he could not find a female vocalist who could sing them at the time of the original recording.

At about the same time Chad Wackerman also overdubbed new drum tracks on Flambay, Spider of Destiny and Regyptian Strut, which replaced the original drum parts. Wackerman did not overdub drums on "Time is Money" even though he is credited for this in the CD notes.


1. Frank Zappa - Filthy Habits
2. Frank Zappa - Flambay
3. Frank Zappa - Spider Of Destiny
4. Frank Zappa - Regyptian Strut
5. Frank Zappa - Time Is Money
6. Frank Zappa - Sleep Dirt
7. Frank Zappa - The Ocean Is The Ultimate Solution

foobar2000 1.6.2 / Dynamic Range Meter 1.1.1
log date: 2021-05-02 10:41:16

Analyzed: Frank Zappa / Sleep Dirt

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR9 -0.30 dB -10.87 dB 7:33 01-Filthy Habits
DR12 -0.30 dB -14.47 dB 4:52 02-Flambay
DR11 -0.30 dB -12.32 dB 3:01 03-Spider Of Destiny
DR10 -0.30 dB -11.53 dB 4:13 04-Regyptian Strut
DR10 -0.30 dB -12.75 dB 2:53 05-Time Is Money
DR12 -0.39 dB -15.65 dB 3:21 06-Sleep Dirt
DR10 -0.30 dB -11.53 dB 13:18 07-The Ocean Is The Ultimate Solution

Number of tracks: 7
Official DR value: DR11

Samplerate: 192000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 7149 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer.