Herbie Hancock - Empyrean Isles + Maiden Voyage (1964/1965/2015) [BD-Audio Rip 24-bit/192kHz]

Posted By: HDV
Herbie Hancock - Empyrean Isles + Maiden Voyage (1964/1965/2015) [BD-Audio Rip 24-bit/192kHz]

Herbie Hancock - Empyrean Isles / Maiden Voyage (1964/1965/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time - 124:49 minutes | 5,28 GB
Blu-Ray Pure Audio | LPCM Stereo to FLAC | Artwork: Front cover

Herbie Hancock's "Empyrean Isles" and "Maiden Voyage" on Blu-ray Pure Audio Disc - two of Hancock's most iconic albums, plus unreleased takes. Universal Music Group has gone back to the original master tapes to deliver fully uncompressed, high-resolution versions of many of your favorite albums. 'Empyrean Isles' features the alternate takes from the RVG version as well as unreleased alts of "One Finger Snap", "Oliloquy Valley" and "Cantaloupe Island".

Empyrean Isles, recorded when Hancock was 24 and a new member of the Miles Davis Quintet, features the pianist pushing at the boundaries of hard bop, creating fresh, new music. In a quartet with Freddie Hubbard, Ron Carter and Tony Williams, Hancock shows that he was familiar with both avant-garde jazz and groovin' R&B. His four compositions include the original and most exciting version of "Cantaloupe Island" and the swingingly unpredictable "One Finger Snap." Empyrean Isles brims with the power and adventure of the best 1960s jazz, pushing ahead into uncharted territory.

By the time he recorded Maiden Voyage in 1965, Hancock had been a very important member of the Miles Davis Quintet for two years and had already led five albums for Blue Note. Maiden Voyage, which teams Hancock with Freddie Hubbard, George Coleman, Ron Carter and Tony Williams, is a true classic. Each of the five Hancock originals, which include "The Eye Of The Hurricane" and the future standard "Dolphin Dance," inspire the musicians to play at their very best, the music is both accessible and unpredictable, and the communication between the players is consistently magical.


01 - One Finger Snap
02 - Oliloqui Valley
03 - Cantaloupe Island
04 - The Egg
05 - One Finger Snap (Take 10)
06 - One Finger Snap (Take 19)
07 - Oliloqui Valley (Take 1)
08 - Oliloqui Valley (Take 3)
09 - Cantaloupe Island (Take 11)
10 - Cantaloupe Island (Take 12)
11 - Maiden Voyage
12 - The Eye Of The Hurricane
13 - Little One
14 - Survival Of The Fittest
15 - Dolphin Dance

Tracks "1-4" is "Empyrean Isles"
Tracks "5-10" is Bonus tracks
Tracks "11-15" is "Maiden Voyage"

'Empyrean Isles' was mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.
The alternate takes mastered by Robert Vosgien at Capitol Mastering.
'Maiden Voyage' was mastered by Alan Yoshida.

Empyrean Isles:
Herbie Hancock - piano
Freddie Hubbard - cornet
Ron Carter - bass
Tony Williams - drums

Maiden Voyage:
Herbie Hancock - piano
Freddie Hubbard - trumpet
George Coleman - tenor saxophone
Ron Carter - bass
Tony Williams - drums

Analyzed: Herbie Hancock / Empyrean Isles / Maiden Voyage

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR13 -0.72 dB -17.96 dB 7:20 01-One Finger Snap
DR14 -1.59 dB -19.46 dB 8:28 02-Oliloqui Valley
DR13 -1.98 dB -18.36 dB 5:33 03-Cantaloupe Island
DR14 -0.52 dB -20.30 dB 14:01 04-The Egg
DR11 -1.75 dB -15.89 dB 6:46 05-One Finger Snap (Take 10)
DR10 -1.39 dB -14.92 dB 7:37 06-One Finger Snap (Take 19)
DR12 -2.43 dB -18.22 dB 9:15 07-Oliloqui Valley (Take 1)
DR11 -2.05 dB -17.60 dB 10:47 08-Oliloqui Valley (Take 3)
DR12 -2.10 dB -17.29 dB 6:06 09-Cantaloupe Island (Take 11)
DR12 -1.75 dB -17.34 dB 6:38 10-Cantaloupe Island (Take 12)
DR14 -0.50 dB -20.16 dB 7:56 11-Maiden Voyage
DR14 -0.28 dB -17.18 dB 6:02 12-The Eye Of The Hurricane
DR14 -1.64 dB -20.72 dB 8:50 13-Little One
DR15 -0.01 dB -19.56 dB 10:07 14-Survival Of The Fittest
DR15 0.00 dB -19.85 dB 9:21 15-Dolphin Dance

Number of tracks: 15
Official DR value: DR13

Samplerate: 192000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 6043 kbps
Codec: FLAC