Jon Lord - Gemini Suite (1971/2016) [Official Digital Download 24-bit/96kHz]

Posted By: HDV
Jon Lord - Gemini Suite (1971/2016) [Official Digital Download 24-bit/96kHz]

Jon Lord - Gemini Suite (1971/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time - 47:43 minutes | 1,06 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

The Gemini Suite was first performed in September 1970 at the Royal Festival Hall and was recorded the following year at the Abbey Road and De Lane Lea studios as the first solo project of Jon Lord. It is a six piece classic-rock fusion work inspired by the members of Deep Purple and was recorded with the London Symphonic Orchestra conducted by Oscar winner Malcolm Arnold and is featuring the guest musicians Albert Lee, Yvonne Elliman, Tony Ashton as well as the two other Deep Purple member Ian Paice and Roger Glover.

After the 1969 classical / rock fusion Concerto for Group and Orchestra, Jon Lord was commissioned to write a follow-up. This was Gemini Suite, five long movements inspired by the members of Deep Purple, and performed live in September 1970 at the Royal Festival Hall with The Light Music Society Orchestra (the album of the concert was issued in 1993 as Gemini Suite Live). Jon Lord then recorded it in the studio as his first solo project in 1971, with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Malcolm Arnold and soloists drawn from the rock world. The album was originally released in Europe and America in 1971 with different cover artwork. Gemini Suite was an important step for Lord and led to albums such as Windows (1974) and Sarabande (1976).


01 - Guitar (Soloist: Albert Lee)
02 - Piano (Soloist: Jon Lord)
03 - Drums (Soloist: Ian Paice)
04 - Vocals (Soloist: Yvonne Elliman and Tony Ashton)
05 - Bass Guitar (Soloist: Roger Glover)
06 - Organ (Soloist: Jon Lord)

Composed and scored by Jon Lord. Lyrics by Jon Lord.
Recorded in March 1971 at Abbey Road and De Lane Lea studios, London, U.K.
This 2016 reissue was remastered by Rob Cass from the original stereo mixes at Abbey Road.

Jon Lord - piano, organ
Albert Lee - guitars
Roger Glover - bass
Ian Paice - drums
Tony Ashton - vocals
Yvonne Elliman - vocals
+ The London Symphony Orchestra - Conducted by Malcolm Arnold.

Analyzed: Jon Lord, Tony Ashton, Yvonne Elliman, Roger Glover, Albert Lee, Ian Paice, London Symphony Orchestra, Malcolm Arnold / Gemini Suite

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR9 -1.10 dB -14.54 dB 9:02 01-Guitar (solo Albert Lee)
DR11 -1.10 dB -15.77 dB 8:09 02-Piano (solo Jon Lord)
DR10 -1.10 dB -14.89 dB 7:26 03-Drums (solo Ian Paice)
DR10 -1.10 dB -15.92 dB 5:53 04-Vocals (solo Yvonne Elliman and Tony Ashton)
DR9 -1.10 dB -13.14 dB 5:05 05-Bass Guitar (solo Roger Glover)
DR9 -1.10 dB -13.92 dB 12:07 06-Organ (solo Jon Lord)

Number of tracks: 6
Official DR value: DR10

Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 3041 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer!