Black - Wonderful Life (1987) Non-Remastered [Re-Up, New Rip]

Posted By: Designol
Black - Wonderful Life (1987) Non-Remastered [Re-Up, New Rip]

Black - Wonderful Life (1987)
EAC | FLAC | Tracks (Cue&Log) ~ 405 Mb (incl 5%) | Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 152 Mb (incl 5%) | Scans ~ 92 Mb
Genre: Pop/Rock, New Wave | Label: A&M Records | # 395165-2 | Time: 01:03:30

This smoky-voiced singer/songwriter, whose sophisticated jazz-pop songs and dramatic vocal delivery place him somewhere between Bryan Ferry and Morrissey, hits his peak with the driving "Everything's Coming up Roses" (not the Jule Styne song).

Review by William Ruhlmann,

Looking over the other reviews here, I don't feel anyone does this album justice, nor the artist, Colin Vearncombe. Released back in 1987, "Wonderful Life" is one of those lost gems, forgotten by most. In America, the album barely made a dent, and the title track hardly received any play on MTV or VH1, but that's where I saw the video.

There was something unique about Black, sounding like Depeche Mode, OMD, Bryan Ferry/Roxy Music and Rick Astley. At the time I was 14, and this type of music really appealed to me. There's not one bad song on this disc, and it could very well be Mr. Vearncombe's best work. Years later, I still enjoy listening to this disc, and it also brings some nostalgia with it. If you liked the new romanticism of bands like ABC, Spandau Ballet and Culture Club, plus the above mentioned artists, you might like Black. This is his debut, and a great place to get started.

For the record, his other releases that you might find equally as enjoyable are: AS BLACK: "Comedy" (1989), "Black" (1991), "Are We Having Fun Yet?" (1993) AS COLIN VEARNCOMBE: "The Accused" (1999), "Water On Snow" (2000) and "Smoke Up Close" (2002). Colin has recently returned to the Black moniker and is supposed to release a new cd called "Between Two Churches" soon (2005). Most of his catalogue is out of print. But you know what that means? Ebay! You can also find more information about Colin at his website […]. I have most of his cds, and he's definitely worth checking out.

Review by Jason Stein,

Black - Wonderful Life (1987) Non-Remastered [Re-Up, New Rip]


01. Wonderful Life (4:48)
02. Everything's Coming Up Roses (4:06)
03. Sometimes for the Asking (4:09)
04. Finder (4:15)
05. Paradise (4:52)
06. I'm Not Afraid (5:02)
07. I Just Grew Tired (4:16)
08. Blue (3:40)
09. Just Making Memories (4:28)
10. Sweetest Smile (5:20)
11. Ravel in the Rain (3:49)
12. Leave Yourself Alone (4:31)
13. Sixteens (3:55)
14. It's Not You Lady Jane (3:27)
15. Hardly Star-crossed Lovers (2:53)

Black - Wonderful Life (1987) Non-Remastered [Re-Up, New Rip]

Black - Wonderful Life (1987) Non-Remastered [Re-Up, New Rip]

All thanks to original releaser - alekow

More interesting music in My Blog