Claudio Filippini Trio - Facing North (2013)

Posted By: mark70
Claudio Filippini Trio - Facing North (2013)

Claudio Filippini Trio - Facing North (2013)
MP3 320 kbps CBR | 50:35 min | 112 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: Cam Jazz

'Facing North' is an album that confirms the commitment of this pianist from Pescara, Italy. Claudio Filippini has grown to be considered one of the most promising artists in the Italian jazz scene today thanks to his numerous awards and international collaborations. 'Facing North' is a convergence of two worlds and approaches, where the pianist meets two extraordinary musicians such as Palle Danielsson and Olavi Louhivuori. The former is a true legend of Northern European jazz, an amazing bass player who shaped a movement that honors him today as one of its greatest leaders. The latter, drummer Olavi Louhivuori, is among the leading protagonists in Finnish jazz despite his young age, and is a cohort of Tomasz Stanko and Dave Stapleton amongst many others. From this meeting comes a thrilling album, where northern European influences mix with Filippini s lyricism. An extraordinary writing from which compositions of great depth are born, giving due recognition to Filippini not only as a musician but also as a composer. A perfect symbiosis between the three musicians who, from the very first recorded note, seem to have known each other forever.


1. Nothing To Lose (D. Black/H. Mancini)
2. Scorpion Tail (C. Filippini)
3. Facing North (C. Filippini)
4. Landscape (C. Filippini)
5. Sonatina (C. Filippini)
6. Embraceable You (I. Gershwin/G. Gershwin)
7. God Only Knows (T. Asher/B. Wilson)
8. Chasing Pavements (A. Adkins/E. White)
9. Soaking and Floating (C. Filippini)
10. Modern Times (C. Filippini)


Claudio Filippini - piano;
Palle Danielsson - contrabbasso;
Olavi Louhivuori - batteria.