David Sylvian - Everything And Nothing (2000) (Limited 3xCD edition)

Posted By: ruskaval
David Sylvian  - Everything And Nothing (2000) (Limited 3xCD edition)

David Sylvian - Everything And Nothing (2000) (2CD + bonus CD)
EAC rip | FLAC+CUE+LOG -> 403Mb + 390Mb + 140Mb | MP3 @320 -> 157Mb + 149Mb + 52Mb
72:03 + 67:39 + 52Mb | Artwork | Virgin Records (UK)

3 x CD, Compilation, Limited Edition. Compilation including many unreleased tracks & alternate versions from late Japan (1981) and Rain Tree Crow (1991) up to Dead Bees On A Cake album (1999). Many tracks are alternate (re)mixes to the original versions. Review
Following 1999's Dead Bees On A Cake, Everything and Nothing is a collection of singles, live sessions and oddities from the David Sylvian back catalogue. Since severing connections with cult 1970s/80s band, Japan, Sylvian has continued to probe the underbelly of rock/pop with often arresting results. Many of the songs here have been reworked for this collection but these updated interpretations don't detract from any of the tender, deeply melancholic poetry of the originals. A serial collaborator, Everything and Nothing draws upon material from all his albums, including 1991's Rain Tree Crow (with Japan members Richard Barbieri and Steve Jansen), the 1986 Ryuichi Sakamoto album Heartbeat and 1989's Secrets Of The Beehive. In a wonderful coup for cult followers, Everything and Nothing also features the complete version of the lost Japan tune "Some Kind Of Fool", intended for Gentlemen Take Poloraids. However, as so much of what Sylvian achieved with Japan was built on artifice, it is refreshing to hear him in a stripped down arena. The opening "The Scent of Magnolia"–part electronica, part rock–glides with a subtlety and nous that puts many practitioners in both fields to shame, while "Albuquerque" sustains a gorgeous balance between conceptual boldness and engaging melody. Everything and Nothing is a good way to sample and celebrate Sylvian in shape-shifting form. He ducks in and out of focus, between rugged ballads (the infamous "Ghosts"), avant-garde jazz ("God's Monkey") and–on a couple of tracks where the multi-instrumental backing is dropped for synthesisers–a successful glossy pop. –Maxine Kabuubi

EVERYTHING AND NOTHING is a two-disc set of "best of" tracks from David Sylvian's career (including some with former band Japan), previously unreleased recordings, and re-recordedor otherwise alternate versions of other tracks (initial copies also included a third disc of remixes and further alternate versions). Most collections spanning such a length of time (20 years!) are spotty at best, but Sylvian's career hasbeen unusually consistent, both in terms of direction and quality, and EVERYTHING AND NOTHING is guided by a clarity ofvision absent from most compilations. Listening to it is more like hearing a new David Sylvian record than a random sampling from his catalogue. HIghlights include the usual suspects; "Blackwater", "Ghosts", and "Godman", all standouts on the albums from which they were culled. Alongside those tracks, though, is the true meat of the collection. Among the best are the breathtaking "The Scent of Magnolia", "Some Kind of Fool"–recorded for Japan's seminal GENTLEMEN TAKE POLAROIDS album but unfinished at the time–and an alternate version of "Weathered Wall" (from BRILLIANT TREES) that far and away outstrips the original. An essential purchase for Sylvian fans.

1. Scent Of Magnolia
2. Heartbeat
3. Blackwater
4. Albuquerque (Dobro #6)
5. Ride
6. Golden Way
7. Ghosts
8. Pop Song
9. Every Colour You Are
10. Wanderlust
11. God's Monkey
12. Let The Happiness In
13. I Surrender
14. Thoroughly Lost To Logic

15. Jean The Birdman
16. Cover Me With Flowers
17. Boy With The Gun
18. Riverman
19. Aparna And Nimisha (Dobro #5)
20. Midnight Sun
21. Orpheus
22. Some Kind Of Fool
23. Cries And Whispers
24. Godman
25. Laughter And Forgetting
26. Buoy
27. Weathered Wall
28. Bamboo Houses
29. Come Morning

30.The Scent Of Magnolia (Edit)
31.The Blinding Light Of Heaven
32.The Scent Of Magnolia (Portobello Mix)
33.Brilliant Trees (Version 2000)