Mark Turner - In this World

Posted By: fontibre
Mark Turner - In this world
MP3 | 96 MB | VBR above 500 kbps | Genre: Jazz

Mark Turner - In this World

1. Mesa
2. Lennie Groove
3. You Know I Care
4. Long Road, The
5. Barcelona
6. In This World
7. Days Of Wine And Roses
8. Bo Brussels
9. She Said, She Said

Mark Turner (tenor saxophone); Brad Mehldau (piano, Fender Rhodes); Kurt Rosenwinkel (guitar); Larry Grenadier (bass); Brian Blade, Jorge Rossy (drums).

Recorded at Right Track Studios, New York, New York on June 3-5, 1998. The future of the tenor saxophone is secure with the likes of Mark Turner at the helm. On IN THIS WORLD, his sophmore release for Warner Brothers, Turner is in his prime as a leader. He commands his sidemen, including young stars like Brad Mehldau (piano), Brian Blade (drums) and Kurt Rosenwinkel (guitar), with a gentle, yet confident, hand. His subtle colorations to the burnished melody of the opening "Mesa" is a treat to behold. Likewise, his powerful charge on the swinging "Barcelona" yields tasteful results. Blades' light, driving sizzle on the cymbals on the standard "Days Of Wine And Roses" propels Turner and Mehldau to stunning solo spots. Finally, Lennon and McCartney's "She Said, She Said" is a powerful groove that mixes pop sensibilities with contemporary group improvisation at its finest.