Best Novels from 1965 to 2012 - Nebula Award Winners (Audio)

Posted By: JohnZulzman
Best Novels from 1965 to 2012 - Nebula Award Winners (Audio)

Best Novels from 1965 to 2012 - Nebula Award Winners (Audio)
English | Mp3 @ 64/128 kbps | Large Audiobooks Collection | 18.37 Gb
Genre: Novels

The Nebula Awards are given each year by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) for the best science fiction or fantasy fiction published in the United States during the previous year. The award has been described as one of "the most important of the American science fiction awards" and "the science-fiction and fantasy equivalent" of the Emmy Awards. The Nebula Award for Best Novel is given each year for science fiction or fantasy novels published in English or translated into English and released in the United States or on the internet during the previous calendar year. A work of fiction is defined by the organization as a novel if it is 40,000 words or longer; awards are also given out for pieces of shorter lengths in the short story, novelette, and novella categories. The Nebula Award for Best Novel has been awarded annually since 1966. Novels which were expanded forms of previously published short stories are eligible, as are novellas published by themselves if the author requests them to be considered as a novel.
Nebula Award nominees and winners are chosen by members of the SFWA, though the authors of the nominees do not need to be members. Works are nominated each year between November 15 and February 15 by published authors who are members of the organization, and the six works that receive the most nominations then form the final ballot, with additional nominees possible in the case of ties. Members may then vote on the ballot throughout March, and the final results are presented at the Nebula Awards ceremony in May. Authors are not permitted to nominate their own works, and ties in the final vote are broken, if possible, by the number of nominations the works received. Beginning with the 2009 awards, the rules were changed to the current format. Prior to then, the eligibility period for nominations was defined as one year after the publication date of the work, which allowed the possibility for works to be nominated in the calendar year after their publication and then be awarded in the calendar year after that. Works were added to a preliminary list for the year if they had ten or more nominations, which were then voted on to create a final ballot, to which the SFWA organizing panel was also allowed to add an additional work.
During the 48 nomination years, 162 authors have had works nominated; 35 of these have won, including co-authors and ties. Ursula K. Le Guin has received the most Nebula Awards for Best Novel with four wins out of six nominations. Joe Haldeman has received three awards out of four nominations, while nine other authors have won twice. Jack McDevitt has the most nominations at eleven, with one win, while Philip K. D*ick and Poul Anderson are tied at five for the most nominations without winning an award.

Nebula Award Winners List:

  • 1965 Frank Herbert - Dune (read by Scott Brick)
  • 1966 Daniel Keyes - Flowers For Algernon (read by Jeff Woodman)
  • 1967 Samuel R. Delany - Babel-17 (Unknown narrator)
  • 1968 Samuel R. Delany - The Einstein Intersection - no link
  • 1969 Ursula Le Guin - The Left Hand Of Darkness (Unknown narrator)
  • 1970 Larry Niven - Ringworld (read by Tom Parker)
  • 1971 Robert Silverberg - A Time Of Change (read by Tom Parker)
  • 1972 Isaac Asimov - The Gods Themselves (read by Patricia Leclaire)
  • 1973 Arthur C. Clarke - Rendezvous With Rama (read by Peter Ganim)
  • 1974 Ursula Le Guin - The Dispossessed (read by Don Leslie)
  • 1975 Joe Haldeman - The Forever War (read by George Wilson)
  • 1976 Frederick Pohl - Man Plus (read by Dennis Boutsikaris)
  • 1977 Frederick Pohl - Gateway (read by Robert J. Sawyer)
  • 1978 Vonda N. McIntyre - Dreamsnake (Ana Fields)
  • 1979 Arthur C. Clarke - The Fountains Of Paradise (read by Marc Vietor)
  • 1980 Gregory Benford - Timescape (read by Simon Prebble and Pete Bradbury)
  • 1981 Gene Wolfe - The Claw Of The Conciator (read by Roy Avers)
  • 1982 Michael Bishop - No Enemy But Time (read by Bob Askey)
  • 1983 David Brin - Startide Rising (read by George Wilson)
  • 1984 William Gibson - Neuromancer (read by Arthur Addison)
  • 1985 Orson Scott Card - Ender's Game (read by several readers)
  • 1986 Orson Scott Card - Speaker For The Dead (read by Stefan Rudnicki)
  • 1987 Pat Murphy - The Falling Woman - no link
  • 1988 Lois McMaster Bujold - Falling Free (read by Michael Hanson and Carol Cowan)
  • 1989 Elizabeth Ann Scargorough - The Healer's War (read by Marry King)
  • 1990 Ursula K. LeGuin - Tehanu (read by Robert Burns)
  • 1991 Michael Swanwick - Stations Of The Tide (read by James DeLotel)
  • 1992 Connie Willis - Doomsday Book (read by Jenny Sterlin)
  • 1993 Kim Stanley Robinson - Red Mars (read by Richard Ferrone)
  • 1994 Greg Bear - Moving Mars (read by Sharon Williams)
  • 1995 Robert Sawyer - The Terminal Experiment (read by Paul Hecht)
  • 1996 Nicola Griffith - Slow River (read by Martha Harmon Pardee)
  • 1997 Vonda McIntyre - The Moon And The Sun (Ana Fields)
  • 1998 Joe Haldeman - Forever Peace (read by George Wilson)
  • 1999 Octavia Butler - Parable Of The Talents (read by Patricia Floyd, Sisi Johnson and Peter Jay Fernandez)
  • 2000 Greg Bear - Darwin's Radio (read by George Guidall)
  • 2001 Catherine Asaro - The Quantum Rose (Ana Fields)
  • 2002 Neil Gaiman - American Gods (read by George Guidall)
  • 2003 Elizabeth Moon - The Speed Of Dark (read by Grover Gardner)
  • 2004 Lois McMaster Bujold - Paladin Of Souls (read by Kate Reading)
  • 2005 Joe Haldeman - Camouflage (read by Eric Michael Summerer)
  • 2006 Jack DeVitt - Seeker (read by Jennifer Van Dyck)
  • 2007 Michael Chabon - The Yiddish Policemen's Union (read by Peter Reigert)
  • 2008 Ursula K. Le Guin - Powers - no link
  • 2009 Paolo Bacigalupi - The Windup Girl (read by Jonathan Davis)
  • 2010 Connie Willis - Blackout/All Clear (read by Katherine Kellgren)
  • 2011 Jo Walton - Among Others (read by Katherine Kellgren)
  • 2012 Kim Stanley Robinson - 2312 (read by Sarah Zimmerman)