How Chess Games are Won and Lost

Posted By: Free butterfly
How Chess Games are Won and Lost

How Chess Games are Won and Lost by Lars Bo Hansen
English | October 7, 2008 | ISBN: 1906454019 | 256 pages | PDF | 5.82 Mb

Traditionally, chess games have been divided into three stages - opening, middlegame and endgame - and general principles presented for how to handle each stage. All chess-players will be well aware that these principles all too frequently fail to help in their selection of the best move.
In this important work, Lars Bo Hansen, grandmaster and professional educator, presents chess as a game of five phases, and explains the do’s and don’ts in each:
* the opening
* the transition to the early middlegame
* the middlegame
* strategic endgames
* technical endgames *
With a wealth of examples from both his own practice and that of his colleagues, Hansen discusses the typical mistakes and pitfalls, and shows how to handle the subtleties unique to each stage. He also advises on how to work on your chess in each aspect of the game. Of special value is his explanation of how to study typical middlegames, and that middlegame preparation - a neglected area for most players - is both possible and necessary.