Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings - Soul of a Woman (2017) 24-bit/96 kHz

Posted By: pyatak
Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings - Soul of a Woman (2017) 24-bit/96 kHz

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings - Soul of a Woman (2017)
Vinyl | FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Front Cover | Time - 35:38 minutes | 742 MB
Soul, Funk, R&B | Label: Daptone Records

Soul of a Woman, Sharon Jones’s final album, was recorded sporadically in the months before her death from pancreatic cancer last year, but throughout its 11 songs, the soul star sounds ready to take on the world. From the hair-raising howl that kicks off “Sail On!” to the smooth vocal runs on “Pass Me By,” Jones sings her heart out with the same commanding power that has defined her career; you’d be forgiven for thinking this was her first album, not her last. Unlike recent final albums from David Bowie and Leonard Cohen, both of which confronted death directly, the songs on Soul of a Woman celebrate life, both its highs and its lows; at times Jones is burning brightly in the throes of love, and in other moments, she’s stewing in the pits of heartbreak. As always, her long-time backing band the Dap-Kings deliver exuberant, stately horns and taut bass lines to launch her forward. “Rumors,” for instance, may be about an unfaithful man, but its lyrics are delivered with such coyness that it ends up feeling more playful than bitter. Later, in the slinky “Searching for a New Day,” Jones yearns for a fresh start; and the stately “These Tears (No Longer for You)” could easily be read as a kiss-off to a partner who doesn’t deserve her attention.


01. Matter of Time 03:22
02. Sail On! 03:00
03. Just Give Me Your Time 02:29
04. Come and Be a Winner 02:56
05. Rumors 02:33
06. Pass Me By 03:20
07. Searching for a New Day 03:14
08. These Tears (No Longer For You) 03:35
09. When I Saw Your Face 03:23
10. Girl! (You Got To Forgive Him) 04:09
11. Call On God 03:37

Turntable: Music Hall 5.1 w/acrylic platter
cartridge: Ortofon Quintet Black
Preamp: Pro-Ject Tube Box II
A/D: Lunatec V3 @ 24/96k
Soundcard: Edirol UA-5

Wavelab 6 (recording) >
Soundforge 9 (manual click/pop removal) >
CDwave (tracking) >
flac (level 5) >
MP3 tag v2.75

01 - Matter Of Time.flac:38471bd1542d8bc9c124ebabf882ab0a
02 - Sail On!.flac:b1539443b1ad9a0318f640b800ebffe4
03 - Just Give Me Your Time.flac:4d4ed223d31bdbb514e34ed703f31ce6
04 - Come And Be A Winner.flac:688ebe7faa567a21bc6e1f65b5fed43c
05 - Rumors.flac:2faa79fca38fd27914156c39e73b518a
06 - Pass Me By.flac:e95cd8233ad9a379557aa3717aea9ce8
07 - Searching For A New Day.flac:4a11423cd249fba2ad760a3befff1b65
08 - These Tears (No Longer For You).flac:8459201bb7e6b04545efb03fd756ff96
09 - When I Saw Your Face.flac:2e6dc37369c2c126b45be246bd2bab72
10 - Girl! (You Got To Forgive Him).flac:109998e1dc466ccd999fb1aa8a5987fe
11 - Call On God.flac:23e807059e46a71f2e8fa9cb2c054d4e

Thanks to the Original customer.