Esther Phillips with Joe Beck - For All We Know (1976/2016) [Official Digital Download 24/192]

Posted By: Pisulik
Esther Phillips with Joe Beck - For All We Know (1976/2016) [Official Digital Download 24/192]

Esther Phillips with Joe Beck - For All We Know (1976/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time - 34:22 minutes | 1,85 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

This 1976 Kudu date under Esther Phillips' name is notable for two major reasons, and both of them are Joe Beck. While Creed Taylor produced the date, all of the sets arrangements were done by Beck, who wove an entire band's sound around the smoking, soulful grooves of his guitar. His playing is the other reason this set is so memorable: Beck is at his most inspired and fluidly funky; he is present everywhere in the mix but nonetheless crafts the strengths of the ensemble around Phillips' unusual voice. Other players include the Brecker Brothers, Don Grolnick, Fred Wesley, Will Lee, Bobby Lyle, Steve Khan, and many others. The band winds around Phillips, setting her up as "Soul Sister Number One," hitting the funky grooves and elongating her clipped trademark delivery. Highlights include the title track one of the greatest disco tunes never played in a disco her up-tempo rave-up of "Unforgettable," with killer breaks by Beck and Michael Brecker, the dirtiest, funkiest version ever of Jackie DeShannon's "Pure Natural Love," and a Latin-tinged read of "Goin' Out of My Head."


01. Unforgettable
02. For All We Know
03. Pure Natural Love
04. Fools Rush In
05. Going Out Of My Head
06. Fever
07. Caravan

Backing Vocals – Carl Caldwell, Hilda Harris, Maeretha Stewart, Peggy Blue
Backing Vocals, Arranged By [Backing Vocals] – Patti Austin (#1,6), Tasha Thomas (#2-5,7)
Bass – Gary King (#7), Will Lee (#1-6)
Cello – Alan Shulman, Anthony Sophos, Charles McCracken, Seymour Barab
Coordinator – Arnaldo DeSouteiro
Design – Rene Schumacher
Drums – Andy Newmark (#1,3,4,7), Chris Parker (#2,6)
Electric Guitar, Soloist [All Solos], Arranger – Joe Beck
Electric Piano – Bobby Lyle (#4), Don Grolnick (#1-3,5), Leon Pendarvis (#2)
Lead Vocals – Esther Phillips
Percussion – Nicky Marrero (#1,2,6,7)
Percussion, Congas – George Devens (tracks: 2, 5, 6), Ralph MacDonald (tracks: 3, 4)
Piano – Don Grolnick (#7)
Rhythm Guitar – Steve Khan (#1-6)
Saxophone [Baritone] – Ronnie Cuber
Saxophone [Tenor] – Frank Vicari, Michael Brecker
Timbales – Nicky Marrero (#5)
Trombone – Barry Rogers, Fred Wesley (#6)
Trumpet – Randy Brecker
Viola – Harold Coletta, Theodore Israel
Violin – David Nadien, Emanuel Green, Harold Kohon, Harry Glickman, John Pintavalle, Max Ellen, Max Pollikoff, Paul Gershman

foobar2000 1.3.7 / Dynamic Range Meter 1.1.1
log date: 2017-10-30 04:46:43

Analyzed: Esther Phillips with Joe Beck / For All We Know

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR13 -0.10 dB -14.83 dB 3:42 01-Unforgettable
DR14 -0.10 dB -15.32 dB 3:35 02-For All We Know
DR14 -0.10 dB -15.56 dB 5:23 03-Pure Natural Love
DR13 -0.10 dB -14.80 dB 4:29 04-Fools Rush In
DR13 -0.10 dB -14.55 dB 7:54 05-Going Out Of My Head
DR14 -0.10 dB -15.63 dB 3:37 06-Fever
DR14 -0.10 dB -15.52 dB 5:42 07-Caravan

Number of tracks: 7
Official DR value: DR13

Samplerate: 192000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 5271 kbps
Codec: FLAC

All thanks go to the original releaser