Abdullah Ibrahim - The Balance (2019) [Official Digital Download 24/96]

Posted By: Pisulik
Abdullah Ibrahim - The Balance (2019) [Official Digital Download 24/96]

Abdullah Ibrahim - The Balance (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time - 40:59 minutes | 1,85 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

There are few musicians in jazz who can make you feel that essentially all is right in the world. Getting the balance just right has always been Ibrahim’s great strength, drawing from a source but keeping it fresh. A modern master… his graceful playing leans on equal measures of force and restraint, of dense clusters and open space. Mr. Ibrahim’s music is dotted by satisfying, sometimes stunning, passages of repose.

At the age of 84, Abdullah Ibrahim (AKA Dollar Brand) is set to release his first new album in four years. Entitled 'The Balance', this project features his long-time septet Ekaya, a line-up that he's been recording with since 1983. In this case, the album was recorded over the course of one day at London's RAK Studios last November. The lush horn lines, lilting melodies, and uplifting chord progressions are characteristic of Abdullah's own particular brand of Township Jazz. This is contrasted with various solo piano improvisations, which epitomise the nostalgic yet hopeful nature of Abdullah's musical spirit. Hence, The Balance.

In his own words, "We push ourselves out of our comfort zones. So that we can present to the listener our striving for excellence. So that we can engage with our listeners without any barriers of our ego. It's not jazz. For us, it's a process of transcending barriers."


01. Dreamtime (4:06)
02. Nisa (6:37)
03. Jabula (3:43)
04. Tuang Guru (5:11)
05. Tonegawa (3:33)
06. Song for Sathima (4:11)
07. ZB2 (2:04)
08. Skippy (5:35)
09. Devotion (2:56)
10. The Balance (3:04)

foobar2000 1.3.7 / Dynamic Range Meter 1.1.1
log date: 2019-12-14 04:02:13

Analyzed: Abdullah Ibrahim / The Balance

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR13 -0.72 dB -16.93 dB 4:06 01-Dreamtime
DR10 -0.70 dB -14.35 dB 6:37 02-Nisa
DR11 -0.71 dB -14.12 dB 3:43 03-Jabula
DR9 -0.70 dB -12.64 dB 5:11 04-Tuang Guru
DR15 -0.71 dB -18.56 dB 3:33 05-Tonegawa
DR11 -0.71 dB -14.60 dB 4:11 06-Song for Sathima
DR14 -0.76 dB -19.27 dB 2:04 07-ZB2
DR10 -0.69 dB -13.37 dB 5:35 08-Skippy
DR15 -0.71 dB -18.76 dB 2:56 09-Devotion
DR14 -0.73 dB -17.11 dB 3:04 10-The Balance

Number of tracks: 10
Official DR value: DR12

Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 2664 kbps
Codec: FLAC

All thanks go to the original releaser