Subcategories

By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

Posted By: First1
By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz by Max Eisen
English | January 7th, 2020 | ISBN: 1335050140 | 304 pages | EPUB | 11.15 MB

An award-winning, internationally bestselling Holocaust memoir in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's Night and Primo Levi's Survival in Auschwitz

Britain's DNA Journey: Our Remarkable Genetic Story

Posted By: First1
Britain's DNA Journey: Our Remarkable Genetic Story

Britain's DNA Journey: Our Remarkable Genetic Story by Alistair Moffat
English | November 8th, 2019 | ISBN: 178027629X | 304 pages | EPUB | 5.28 MB

In an epic narrative, sometimes moving, sometimes astonishing, always revealing, Moffat writes an entirely new history of Britain. Instead of the usual parade of the usual suspects – kings, queens, saints, warriors and the notorious – this is a people's history, a narrative made from stories only DNA can tell, which offers insights into who we are and where we come from.

The Ultimate Engineer: The Remarkable Life of NASA's Visionary Leader George M. Low

Posted By: First1
The Ultimate Engineer: The Remarkable Life of NASA's Visionary Leader George M. Low

The Ultimate Engineer: The Remarkable Life of NASA's Visionary Leader George M. Low (Outward Odyssey: a People's History of Spaceflight) by Richard Jurek
English | December 1st, 2019 | ISBN: 0803299559 | 344 pages | EPUB | 3.03 MB

From the late 1950s to 1976 the U.S. manned spaceflight program advanced as it did largely due to the extraordinary efforts of Austrian immigrant George M. Low. Described as the "ultimate engineer" during his career at NASA, Low was a visionary architect and leader from the agency's inception in 1958 to his retirement in 1976. As chief of manned spaceflight at NASA, Low was instrumental in the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo programs. Low's pioneering work paved the way for President Kennedy's decision to make a lunar landing NASA's primary goal in the 1960s. After the tragic 1967 Apollo 1 fire that took the lives of three astronauts and almost crippled the program, Low took charge of the redesign of the Apollo spacecraft, and he helped lead the program from disaster and toward the moon.

Anzac and Aviator: The remarkable story of Sir Ross Smith and the 1919 England to Australia air race

Posted By: First1
Anzac and Aviator: The remarkable story of Sir Ross Smith and the 1919 England to Australia air race

Anzac and Aviator: The remarkable story of Sir Ross Smith and the 1919 England to Australia air race by Michael Molkentin
English | October 1st, 2019 | ISBN: 1742379192 | 424 pages | EPUB | 8.29 MB

He was courageous. He was ambitious. He was skilled. He was visionary. He could be ruthless. He was someone born of a new nation. But he was of a time now long past. And yet in the language of a later generation it could be said he had the "right stuff" . . . Michael Molkentin captures [Ross Smith] brilliantly.' - Andy Thomas, NASA Astronaut (Retired)

Smithsonian American Women: Remarkable Objects and Stories of Strength, Ingenuity, and Vision from the National Collection

Posted By: First1
Smithsonian American Women: Remarkable Objects and Stories of Strength, Ingenuity, and Vision from the National Collection

Smithsonian American Women: Remarkable Objects and Stories of Strength, Ingenuity, and Vision from the National Collection by Smithsonian Institution
English | October 29th, 2019 | ISBN: 158834665X | 248 pages | EPUB | 124.25 MB

An inspiring and surprising celebration of U.S. women's history told through Smithsonian artifacts illustrating women's participation in science, art, music, sports, fashion, business, religion, entertainment, military, politics, activism, and more.

Operation Swallow: American Soldiers' Remarkable Escape from Berga Concentration Camp

Posted By: First1
Operation Swallow: American Soldiers' Remarkable Escape from Berga Concentration Camp

Operation Swallow: American Soldiers' Remarkable Escape from Berga Concentration Camp by Mark Felton
English | October 15th, 2019 | ISBN: 1546076441 | 304 pages | EPUB | 12.63 MB

The true and heroic story of American POWs' daring escape from a Nazi concentration camp.

Convict Colony: The remarkable story of the fledgling settlement that survived against the odds

Posted By: First1
Convict Colony: The remarkable story of the fledgling settlement that survived against the odds

Convict Colony: The remarkable story of the fledgling settlement that survived against the odds by David Hill
English | October 1st, 2019 | ISBN: 1760528668 | 360 pages | EPUB | 6.17 MB

The British plan to settle Australia was a high-risk venture. We now take it for granted that the first colony was the basis of one of the most successful nations in the world today. But in truth, the New World of the 18th century was dotted with failed colonies, and New South Wales nearly joined them.