Rob Frye - Exoplanet (2021) [Official Digital Download 24/48]

Posted By: delpotro
Rob Frye - Exoplanet (2021) [Official Digital Download 24/48]

Rob Frye - Exoplanet (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Front Cover | Time - 39:21 minutes | 451 MB
Contemporary Jazz, Nu Jazz, Fusion | Label: Astral Spirits, Official Digital Download

On Exoplanet, Rob Frye generates an atmosphere in which drummers and improvisers orbit synthesizers, inhabiting a Goldilocks zone of electronic and biotic components. Some of the tracks were created spontaneously or composed of strict loops, but two of the arrangements are melodic adaptations of the song of Musician Wren. After working as a field biologist with the Institute for Bird Populations in California from 2012-2016, Frye began to slow down and transcribe birdsong, eventually developing a performative lecture called Hearing Hidden Melodies. "XC175020" and "XC222182" are not potential earth-like planets in another solar system, indeed they are individual birds recorded by Peter Boesman in the Amazon. This bird, known as Uirapuru in Brazil and La Flautista in Peru, reminds us of the mysterious sonic knowledge threatened on our very own home planet.

On this, his first album for Astral Spirits and his first as a leader, Rob played woodwinds and synthesizers and directed a specialized crew, recruiting Bitchin' Bajas (Drag City) bandmates Cooper Crain and Dan Quinlivan on engineering and electronics. Ben Lamar Gay's cornet (International Anthem) and Macie Stewart's violin (OHMME) pitch and roll, fueled by the dual propulsion of drummers Quin Kirchner (Astral Spirits) and Tommaso Moretti (Amalgam), while Nick Ciontea (brownshoesonly) consults on modular synthesizer. Like the Uirapuru, Edbrass Brasil (Sê-Lo!) also searches through fallen leaves in some of his own work, though for sound not insects. On "Innercosmos" we he hear his unconventional wind tubes, and on "XC222182" his voice calling as instruments gather, playing the bird's melody.

1. Sunrise on Pruhina (03:43)
2. XC175020 (06:15)
3. Innercosmos (03:35)
4. Jupiter Control (06:29)
5. XC222182 feat. Edbrass Brasil (06:57)
6. Lightship Sgr A Star (06:46)
7. Goldilocks (03:55)
8. Sunset on Jgelu (01:42)

foobar2000 1.6.6 / Dynamic Range Meter 1.1.1
log date: 2021-06-04 08:45:37

Analyzed: Rob Frye / Exoplanet

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR8 -0.43 dB -10.88 dB 3:43 01-Sunrise on Pruhina
DR10 -0.36 dB -11.63 dB 6:15 02-XC175020
DR14 -1.77 dB -21.13 dB 3:35 03-Innercosmos
DR9 -0.40 dB -10.98 dB 6:29 04-Jupiter Control
DR11 -0.40 dB -16.23 dB 6:57 05-XC222182 feat. Edbrass Brasil
DR9 -0.39 dB -11.06 dB 6:46 06-Lightship Sgr A Star
DR11 -0.40 dB -13.07 dB 3:55 07-Goldilocks
DR9 -2.43 dB -13.82 dB 1:42 08-Sunset on Jgelu

Number of tracks: 8
Official DR value: DR10

Samplerate: 48000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 1332 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer!