Franz Schubert - A 'Project Climax' Subcategory - 12 CDs

Posted By: Flush

Franz Schubert - A 'Project Climax' Subcategory - 12 CDs

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Schubert was the first true Romantic composer. His works are characterized by an unprecedented depth and intensity of emotion. He had a gift for lyrical melody, which shows most clearly in his more than six hundred songs. He forged new trails in compositional technique as well, experimenting with form and harmonic relations. These characteristics show most clearly in his final works, including the late chamber works, the "Unfinished" and "Great" Symphonies, and the final three Piano Sonatas.

Schubert lived in Vienna, the capital of the European musical world, his entire life. Born to a schoolmaster, he had little formal training in music theory. After following his father's profession for three years, in 1817 he decided to go it alone as a freelance composer. He was successful enough to maintain a living, but he was shy and unskilled in the art of self-promotion, and thus never achieved anything close to the fame that posterity would award him. In 1822 he contracted syphilis, which in those days was a death sentence. This condition had if anything a positive effect on his output: from 1824 to 1828 he enjoyed one of the most remarkable bursts of creative genius ever witnessed, composing his greatest masterpieces of chamber, orchestral, and vocal music. He died in 1828 still largely unknown to the public, and it is only through the efforts of Felix Mendelssohn and Robert Schumann that his works achieved widespread recognition.

What to do next
Once you have browsed and read about the recommended albums of this section at, you can come back here and download the albums that has cought your interest. The albums marked by a red number are the ones I have yet been unable to find anywhere so any help on that matter would be very much appreciated.

If you want more
In case you feel inspired to get more you are welcome to visit the main page of project Climax from where you will have access to a virtual library of quality recordings of classical music. Everything indexed into a variety of categories that should suit everyones taste.

Franz Schubert - A 'Project Climax' Subcategory - 12 CDs
01 - 02 - 03 - 04 - 05 - 06 - 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 - 11 - 12

Password: Sankerib

01 - 'Trout' Quintet & 'Death and the Maiden' - Amadeus Quartet (DG 1997)

02 - Symphonies Nos. 3 & 8 'Unfinished' - Carlos Kleiber & Wiener Philharmoniker (DG 1997)

03 - Streichquintett in C-dur D 956 - Mstislav Rostropovich & Emerson String Quartet (DG 1992)

04 - Impromptus D899 (Op.90) & D935 (Op.142) - Murray Perahia (Sony 1990)

05 - Winterreise - Peter Pears, Benjamin Britten (Decca 2000)

06 - Symphony No. 9 in C major - Wagner; Siegfried Idyll - Sir Georg Solti (Decca 1981)

07 - The Last Four Quartets - Rossi, Farulli & Quartetto Italiano (Philips 1995) 2 CDs

08 - Complete Trios - Beaux Arts Trio, Grumiaux Trio (Philips 1994) 2 CDs

09 - Die Späten Klaviersonaten D958-960, Drei Klavierstücke D946 - Alfred Brendel (Philips 1994) 2 CDs

10 - Piano Quintet in A major D. 667 ''Trout'' - Merrett, Clifford Curzon (BBC 1999) 2 CDs

11 - 21 Lieder - Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Gerald Moore (EMI 1990)

12 - Schubert & Spohr; Octets - Wiener Oktett (Decca2000)