America - Here & Now [2007] Double CD

Posted By: franklee
Artist: America
Title: Here & Now
Label: Burgundy Records
Genre: Rock
Recorded: Stratosphere Sound, New York, New York, June - July 2006
Producer(s): Adam Schlesinger and James Iha
Released: Jan 16, 2007
Format: MP3
Bitrate: VBR
CD 1: avg 227 kBit/s
CD 2: avg 208 kBit/s
Size: 146 MB (incl. 5% Recovery record)


Here & Now is the sixteenth original studio album by American folk rock duo America, released by Burgundy Records in January 2007 (see 2007 in music). This is the first major-label full-length studio album released by the group since Perspective in 1984.

The personnel involved in the recording and production of Here & Now departs sharply from previous projects and represents an effort to reconnect with fresh, young talent. The album is co-produced by James Iha (formerly of Smashing Pumpkins) and Adam Schlesinger (of Fountains Of Wayne and Ivy). Guest artists include Ryan Adams, Ben Kweller, Jim James and Patrick Hallahan of My Morning Jacket, Matthew Caws and Ira Elliot of Nada Surf, Mark Rozzo of Maplewood, and longtime collaborator and friend Stephen Bishop. Veteran America drummer Will Leacox joins in on percussion. Cover songs include "Indian Summer" (Morningwood), "Golden" (My Morning Jacket), and "Always Love" (Nada Surf).

The recording sessions were completed in July 2006, but a scheduled September release was eventually pushed back to January 2007. This was first known occasion on which America recorded in a studio in New York City.

The first disc is comprised of brand-new studio recordings, while a second disc features a live performance of the entire History: America's Greatest Hits album as recorded for XM Satellite Radio, with longtime sidemen Willie Leacox on drums, Michaels Woods on guitar and keyboards, and newcomer Richard Campbell on bass and vocals.

CD 1:
01 - Chasing The Rainbow
02 - Indian Summer
03 - One Chance
04 - Golden
05 - Always Love
06 - Ride On
07 - Love & Leaving
08 - Look At Me Now
09 - This Time
10 - Work To Do
11 - All I Think About Is You
12 - Walk In The Woods

CD 2 (Live):
01 - Ventura Highway
02 - Don't Cross The River
03 - Daisy Jane
04 - I Need You
05 - Tin Man
06 - Muskrat Love
07 - Woman Tonight
08 - Only In Your Heart
09 - Lonely People
10 - Sandman
11 - Sister Golden Hair
12 - A Horse With No Name

Part 1 (75 MB)

Part 2 (71 MB)