Various Artists - Lazy Dog (Mixed by Ben Watt & Jay Hannan) (2000)

Posted By: addheat
Various Artists - Lazy Dog (Mixed by Ben Watt & Jay Hannan) (2000)

Various Artists - Lazy Dog (Deep House Music Mixed by Ben Watt & Jay Hannan) (2000)
Rapidshare | 250MB in 1 part | VBR HQ (~210kbps) | Genre: Dance/House

Lazy Dog is London's premier deep house night, a "real music" club run by DJ Jay Hannan and Everything But the Girl's Ben Watt. Documenting the rise of this Sunday social, Ben kick-starts the party with a heads-down set featuring lush strident grooves such as "That Day" from Julien Jabre, a generic standard made better by the a capella version of his own "The Future of the Future" laid on top. Not that we need the reference, however, because the mix which then unfurls is enough to convince any doubters of this man's absolute faith in the music. Although the rhythm rarely alters beyond a steady 4/4 axis, the flavors spread on top are infinitely more varied, with gospel, jazz, and blue-eyed soul melting easily into the mix. Hannan is more Latino in spirit, upping the pace with fiery percussive classics such as Negrocan's "Cada Vez" and exotic jazz-funk flora. All in all this is real house music–no filters, no Vocoders and, thankfully, not a single drum roll in sight. –Paul Tierney

Disc: 1
1. That Day - Julien Jabre
2. Always - Lisa Shaw
3. Jazzy Kinda Sum'n - Mark Grant
4. Be Encouraged (Matt's II Deep Dub) - Dawn Tallman
5. Mighty Power Of Love (Mood II Swing Instrumental) - Leee John
6. Come Into My Room (Soul Vision 'The Take Back Mix') - Sandy Rivera
7. Love Don't Live (Soulfuric Dub) - Michael Procter
8. The Spiritual Groove (Hard Steppin' Dub) - Sound Of Soul
9. It's All Right - David Anthony
10. Round In My Mind (Take 2) - Julius Papp
11. Isis - Kerry Chandler

Disc: 2
1. Kiss The Night - Big Sexy
2. Flut-ie Pebbles - Jon Cutler
3. Kiss The Night - Royal Jam
4. When I'm With You - Lego
5. Cada Vez (Grant Nelson Vocal Mix) - Negrocan
6. Feel The Real (Jazz 'N' Groove Ultra Classic Mix) - David Bendeth
7. The Path - Sandy Rivera/Jose Burgos
8. Beau Mot Plage (Freeform Reform) - Isolee
9. Future! - Halo varga
10. Ain't No Running Away (Broken Down Instrumental) - Paula Ralph