Art Blakey - Orgy In Rhythm, Vol. 1-2

Posted By: amadou
Art Blakey - Orgy In Rhythm, Vol. 1-2

Art Blakey - Orgy In Rhythm, Vol. 1-2
Mp3 - 192Kbs | 93 MB | Genre: Jazz, BeBop
Release Date: March 7, 1957 | Label: Blue Note Records

This CD reissues one of the first percussion-oriented jazz records, although it was preceded two weeks earlier by Art Blakey's obscure Columbia set Drum Suite. For the Blue Note date, which was originally released as two LPs and is now available as a single CD, Blakey enlisted quite a lineup – the leader, Art Taylor, Jo Jones, and Specs Wright on drums (with the latter two doubling on tympani), five percussionists, flutist Herbie Mann, pianist Ray Bryant and bassist Wendell Marshall. Mann plays a variety of African wood flutes, except on the final number, a conventional blues featuring his regular flute. With percussionist Sabu leading the chanting and taking three vocals (Blakey himself sings a little on "Toffi"), the music is quite African-oriented and generally holds one's interest, preceding Max Roach's M'Boom by over 20 years. Mostly for specialized tastes, this is a set that drummers should consider essential.

1. Buhaina Chant
2. Ya Ya
3. Toffi
4. Split Skins
5. Amuck
6. Elephant Walk
7. Come Out And Meet Me Tonight
8. Abdallah's Delight