Be-Bop Deluxe - Axe Victim (1974)

Posted By: DiceCracker
Be-Bop Deluxe - Axe Victim (1974)

Be-Bop Deluxe - Axe Victim (1974)
plus all my other links
Pure Progressive Rock | MP3 @256 | Cover | ID3
Be-Bop Deluxe - Axe Victim (1974)

UK: Originally released on Harvest SHVL 813 in June 1974
UK: Rereleased on Harvest EDP 154 679-3 in September 1983 as a double album with Futurama
UK: Compact disc released on EMI CZ 327 in February 1991 with additional tracks

Recorded at AIR London CBS Audio International Studios
Produced by Ian McLintock
All songs by Bill Nelson except Rocket Cathedrals by Robert Bryan

From Gibraltar
Art Rock band that featured guitarist extarordinaire Bill Nelson. Good for the uninitiated especially Sunburst Finish in which Nelson explores his version of the future with pop songs with flashy guitar.

The music is not categorized as progressive in the style of Mellotron/keyboard symphonics, but is more within the realm of intelligent rock music comparable in spirit to Peter Hammill's solo material. For those unfamiliar with Be-Bop Deluxe, Modern Music or Sunburst Finish would probably be the best starting points.

Excellant guitar oriented rock with intelligent lyrics and mood shifts ranging from hard-edged to very subtle and passive.

Bill Nelson's mid-70's band, they produced a long string of albums that range from art-rock to mainstream pop, yet always very inventive, intelligent and generally progressive. The best of the bunch are probably Futurama, and Sunburst Finish, which feature plenty of excellent tunes and Nelson's trademark guitar pyrotechnics.

Line Up
Bill Nelson - lead guitars, lead vocals, acoustic guitar and grand piano.
Ian Parkin - rhythm and acoustic guitar. Organ on track 6.
Robert Bryan - bass guitar, vocal. Lead vocal on track 6.
Nicholas Chatterton-Drew - drums and percussion.

Axe Victim
Love Is Swift Arrows
Jet Silver And The Dolls Of Venus
Third Floor Heaven
Night Creatures
Rocket Cathedrals
Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape
Jets At Dawn
No Trains To Heaven
Darkness (L'Immoraliste)

Songs appearing on the CD release

Piece Of Mine (live)
Mill Street Junction (live)
Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape (live)

Download in RS