Bobo Stenson Trio - Goodbye - 2005

Posted By: fontibre
Bobo Stenson Trio - Goodbye - 2005
Jazz | MP3 | 119,19 MB | VBR 320 Kbps | Covers

Bobo Stenson Trio - Goodbye - 2005

Somewhere bewteen the worlds of twentieth century classical music, the music of Ornette Coleman, minimalism, and Scandinavian folk music exists the world of the Bobo Stenson Trio. Since the early '70s, pianist Bobo Stenson has been a vital member of several groundbreaking ECM groups, including those with Charles Lloyd and Tomasz Stanko, as well as the Jan Garbarek/Bobo Stenson quartet. However, it has been with his own trio that he has most completely established his own voice. On Goodbye, his trio continues to mold its own musical world.
Goodbye also marks a change in the drum chair, with Paul Motian taking over percussive duties from Jon Christensen. Having played in the genre-defining Bill Evans trio, he is the quintessential piano trio drummer. His playing is sparse and pared down to its absolute essence, whether he uses brushes or sticks. His brush playing on “Seli” is more about texture than patterns, and his spartan cymbal work and drum interplay throughout Goodbye show his modern approach to his early bebop roots. Now in his seventies, Paul Motian continues to push the envelope of a genre which he helped to define over forty years ago.

The Bobo Stenson Trio continues to perform a highly varied repertoire. Goodbye presents compositions from each member of the trio, as well as from Ariel Ramirez, Stephen Sondheim, Tony Williams, Henry Purcell, Gordon Jenkins, and Ornette Coleman. With a penchant for twelve-tone music, Spanish-influenced pieces, free jazz, and folk music, Goodbye reveals the Bobo Stenson Trio as the very embodiment of the ECM philosophy of musical diversity.

1. Send In The Clowns
2. Rowan
3. Alfonsina
4. There Comes A Time
5. Song About Earth
6. Seli
7. Goodbye
8. Music For A While
9. Allegretto Rubato
10. Jack Of Clubs
11. Sudan
12. Queer Street
13. Triple Play
14. Race Face

Bobo Stenson (piano); Anders Jormin (double bass); Paul Motian (drums). Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York City (04/2004).