Chick Corea And Trondheim Jazz Orchestra - Live In Molde - 2005

Posted By: fontibre
Chick Corea And Trondheim Jazz Orchestra - Live In Molde - 2005

Chick Corea And Trondheim Jazz Orchestra - Live In Molde - 2005
Jazz | MP3 | 104,07 MB | 320 Kbps | No covers

Anyone at this year’s IAJE performance by Chick Corea and the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra of Norway left with a sense of exhilaration. Live in Molde continues in the same vein, presenting some of the most creative and challenging big band arrangements in recent memory. For some composers and arrangers, big band is the ultimate in instrumental expression, its form being the most closely related to the symphony orchestra. Live in Molde is a must-have, a big band “Treatise on Instrumentation”. Erlend Skomsvoll, commissioned to arrange a set of pieces for the 2000 edition of Moldejazz, took the suggestion to re-work Chick Corea’s original material, masterworks in their own right, and proved himself to be an accomplished arranger. Skomsvoll approaches “Crystal Silence” with an interesting minimalist concept; using only the saxophone section as accompaniment for piano and rhythm. “Matrix” is brilliantly re-cast, featuring Corea’s original piano solo transcribed and masterfully played on the tuba by Oystein Baadsvik. “Duende” features the beautiful, fluid trumpet playing of Mathias Eick; “Return to Forever” has a haunting quality; Skomsvoll’s re-harmonization of “Spain-Intro” puts a completely new face on the well-known jazz standard’s introduction; and the concluding “Armando’s Rhumba” is a wonderful, big dance party.


Crystal Silence; Windows; Matrix; Duende; Bud Powell; Return to Forever; Spain Intro; Armando's Rhumba.


w/ Frode Nymo (as), Tor Yttredal (ss, as), Atle Nymo (ts), Kjetil Møster (ts), Jon Pål Inderberg (bs), Torgeir Andresen (tp), Mathias Eick (tp), Tore Johansen (tp), Øyvind Brække (tb), Inge H. Mortensen (horn), Øystein Baadsvik (tu), Chick Corea (p, el-p), Hans Chr. Frønes (el-g), Steinar Raknes (b), Håkon Mjåset Johansen (ds), Erlend Skomsvoll (cond., arr)

104,07MB 320 Kbps.