Frida Soundtrack

Posted By: oxus

Frida Soundtrack, 2002, Elliot Goldenthal | MP3 128 Kbps | CD-DA Source | 53 Mb

Frida, the bio-pic of artist Frida Kahlo, features a dramatic and poignant score (with songs) by composer Elliot Goldenthal. Very heavy on the Latin musical themes, Goldenthal employed plenty of Mexican guitars, as well as a string ensemble. "The Floating Bed" is a great example of one of the main themes heard through the score, with traditional Mexican rhythms, yet with the distinctive Goldenthal edge. When it's not as upbeat as that, it's more plaintive and dramatic, even a touch romantic (as in "Solo Tu"). "La Cavalera" is a rather dark malevolent track, employing that edge that Goldenthal does so well.

The songs on the album all show up in the film, and a few of them were written by Goldenthal. Most notably, "Viva La Vida" and "Burn it Blue"; the latter of which employs themes heard through the film. Featured singers include Lila Downs, Chavela Vargas, and Caetano Veloso. The songs flow exceptionally well with the score, and if you're in the mood for a dramatic, Mexican themed album, this one is a definite winner.

1. "Benediction and Dream" - Lila Downs
2. The Floating Bed
3. "El Conejo" - Los Cojolites
4. "Paloma Negra" - Chavela Vargas
5. Self-Portrait with Hair Down
6. "Alcoba Azul" - Lila Downs
7. "Carabina 30/30" - El Poder Del Norte
8. Solo Tu
9. "El Gusto" - Trio Huasteco Caimanes de Tamuin
10. The Journey
11. "El Antifaz" - Liberacion, Miguel Galindo, Alejandro Marehuala, Gerardo Garcia
12. The Suicide of Dorothy Hale
13. La Cavalera
14. "La Bruja" - Salma Hayek & Los Vega
15. Portrait of Lupe
16. "La Llorona" - Chavela Vargas
17. "Estrella Oscura" - Lila Downs
18. Still Life
19. "Viva La Vida" - Trio/Marimberos
20. The Departure
21. Coyocan and Variations
22. "La Llorona" - Lila Downs and Mariachi Juvenil de Tecalitlan
23. Burning Bed
24. "Burn it Blue" - Caetano Veloso & Lila Downs