The GrooveGrass Boyz -

Posted By: BigBrother
The GrooveGrass Boyz

Groovegrass 101

Когда мне удается стащить у моего сына его навороченные стереонаушники фирмы KOSS (другие он не признает), я тут же стараюсь поставить свой любимый диск группы The GrooveGrass Boyz и насладиться прекрасной музыкой. Я не знаю, какие песни мне нравятся больше - Blue Moon Of Kentucky или Stand By Me, Cypress Grove или Salty Dog Blues. Все же, пожалуй, лучшее - это Wabash Cannonball! ...Или Little Cabin On The Hill... Впрочем, как говорят: "Сколько ни говори - халва! халва! - во рту все равно не станет слаще". Так что - пробуйте, не разочаруетесь.

If you judge a book by its cover, you may be expecting The Groovegrass Boyz to be a street-smart new hip-hop group sporting expensive Nike sweats and high top b-ball shoes. You couldn't be farther from the truth.
The project is the brainchild of producer Scott Rouse, whose musical background is as diverse as the contents of this new CD. He grew up around bluegrass (his father was a close friend of Doc Watson), but his production talents took him in the direction of R&B and pop music. A couple of years ago, he mixed bluegrass music into dance tracks and started playing it at dance clubs. The response was amazing, and with help from friends he began to work on a record deal.

Right away, he expected the hard core bluegrass community to come down hard on the style, but criticism never came. "The idea is to get people, and a generation of people who don't know anything about bluegrass exposed to it with this stuff," he says. "That’s the goal, just to get people to find out about it. Nobody's really had anything bad to say about it yet. Bluegrass people are pretty smart. They understand what we're doing. A lot of people think they're uneducated and old and it's just not true. 99% of them are very educated, and they understand where we're coming from."

1. Cypress Grove
2. Howdy
3. Walkin' After Midnight
4. Let It Rain
5. Deep River Blues
6. Little Cabin On The Hill
7. Stuck Like Glue
8. Salty Dog Blues
9. Wabash Cannonball
10. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
11. Stand By Me

Original Release Date: November 24, 1998
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Catalog Number: 47238
ASIN: B00000F1EC