Jackson Browne The Pretender Full Range Gold CD

Posted By: hazy
Jackson Browne The Pretender Full Range Gold CD

Full Range CD (DCC Gold CD re-mastered by Steve Hoffman) Clone CD Image inc Covers and Booklet 242mb RAR file

On The Pretender, Jackson Browne took a step back from the precipice so well defined on his first three albums, but doing so didn't seem to make him feel any better. Employing a real producer, Jon Landau, for the first time, Browne made what sounded like a real contemporary rock record, but this made his songs less effective; the ersatz Mexican arrangement of "Linda Paloma" and the bouncy second half of "Daddy's Tune," with its horn charts and guitar solo, undercut the lyrics. The man who had delved so deeply into life's abyss on his earlier albums was in search of escape this time around, whether by crying ("Here Come Those Tears Again"), sleeping ("Sleep's Dark and Silent Gate"), or making peace with estranged love ones ("The Only Child," "Daddy's Tune"). None of it worked, however, and when Browne came to the final track – traditionally the place on his albums where he summed up his current philosophical stance – he delivered "The Pretender," a cynical, sarcastic treatise on moneygrubbing and the shallow life of the suburbs. Primarily inner-directed, the song's defeatist tone demands rejection, but it is also a quintessential statement of its time, the post-Watergate '70s; dire as that might be, you had to admire that kind of honesty, even as it made you wince. ~ William Ruhlmann, All Music Guide
The Pretender was nominated for a Grammy Award in 1978, but did not win. In 2003, the album was ranked number 391 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Track listing
all songs by Jackson Browne, except where noted
1. "The Fuse" – 5:50
2. "Your Bright Baby Blues" – 6:05
3. "Linda Paloma" – 4:06
4. "Here Come Those Tears Again" (Browne, Nancy Farnsworth) – 3:37
5. "The Only Child" – 3:43
6. "Daddy's Tune" – 3:35
7. "Sleep's Dark and Silent Gate" – 2:37
8. "The Pretender" – 5:53
• Jackson Browne - acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, keyboard, vocals
• Roy Bittan - piano
• Rosemary Butler - vocals, harmony vocals
• David Campbell - viola
• Gary Coleman - percussion
• David Crosby - vocals, harmony vocals
• Luis Damian - guitar, vocals, background vocals
• Quitman Dennis - horn
• Craig Doerge - piano, keyboard
• Chuck Finley - horn
• Lowell George - guitar, vocals, harmony vocals, slide guitar
• Arthur Gerst - harp, background vocals
• Bob Glaub - bass
• Jim Gordon - drums, organ
• Roberto Gutierrez - guitar, violin, vocals, background vocals, guitarron
• John Hall - guitar
• Don Henley - vocals, harmony vocals
• Jim Horn - horn
• David Hyde - horn
• Richard Hyde - horn
• Russ Kunkel - drums
• Jon Landau - vocals
• Albert Lee - guitar, electric guitar
• David Lindley - fiddle, guitar, violin, steel guitar, slide guitar, lap steel guitar
• Graham Nash - vocals, harmony vocals
• Bill Payne - organ, piano, keyboard
• Jeff Porcaro - drums
• Chuck Rainey - bass
• Bonnie Raitt - vocals, harmony vocals
• Leland Sklar - bass
• J.D. Souther - vocals, harmony vocals
• Fred Tackett - acoustic guitar, guitar, electric guitar
• Mike Utley - organ, keyboard