Please register here if you want to download anything!

If domain in your address bar is different from the list below

Spicy Magazines for Men! ;-)

Jenny Lewis with The Watson Twins - Rabbit Fur Coat (2006)

Posted By: Bully

Jenny Lewis with The Watson Twins - Rabbit Fur Coat (2006)

Songwriter, Gospel, Country | CD-DA EAC/Lame MP3 ~190 Kbps VBR | 50 MB

For the team working hard on AvaxHome 3.0 update!

Yes, it's neither friday nor weekend, but I didn't want you have wait any longer for this fine album. Do I love it? Yes, indeed :-)

Most of you might know Jenny Lewis as frontwoman of Rilo Kiley (I'll ipload their "More Adventurous" album next week). This is her first solo album - which is totally different.

Rilo Kiley

It's only a rumor I selected this picture special for Serial :-)

As a quick teaser you can directly listen to 2 of the songs by opening in a new browser window (needs Flash plugin installed).

Jenny Lewis is a singer and a songwriter from Los Angeles, California. She’s got hair the color of a Pacific sunset, a cvoie as sweet as an ice cream cone, and a wit sharper than a razorblade. Most days (and nights) you can find Jenny Lewis singing and playing with Rilo Kiley, a glorious quartet whose third album, 2004’s More Adventurous, has charmed and delighted fans and peers worldwide. But in the tiny moments between the stage and the studio, after the photo shoots but before the bars, Jenny spends time by herself, daydreaming and strumming on her acoustic guitar. And the sound of that time alone is Rabbit Fur Coat, Jenny’s first solo album and one of the most bewitching and intoxicating discs of music you’ve heard in years.

Jenny Lewis with The Watson Twins

AMG album review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

The story line on Rabbit Fur Coat is this: for her first venture outside of celebrated indie sensations Rilo Kiley, singer/songwriter Jenny Lewis has made a "white soul" album, along the lines of Dusty Springfield or Laura Nyro. Which is why, of course, she brought in Kentucky duo the Watson Twins to provide bluegrass harmonies for the entire record. Which is to say that Rabbit Fur Coat doesn't quite live up to its billing — especially when compared to The Greatest, Cat Power's genuine white-soul album that hit the stores the week after Lewis' solo affair. What Rabbit Fur Coat brings to mind is not Laura Nyro but, perhaps inevitably, Neko Case and the stark, arty Americana intimacy of her breakthrough, Furnace Room Lullaby. Not that Lewis has Case's throaty voice or commanding presence — she can growl and slide into notes, but at her core she has a small, fragile voice, one that lends this muted set of songs intimacy, even if it also brings them to the verge of cutsiness. And that's not a word that should be associated with Rabbit Fur Coat, an album that's designed to be a comforting late-night confessional, from rousing stompers like "The Big Guns" through the bluesy crawl of "Rise Up With Fists" to bittersweet ruminations like the seemingly autobiographical title track and the cheerful, gangs-all-here singalong to the Traveling Wilburys "Handle With Care." Musically, this hits the mark — not only does it return Lewis to the country leanings of Rilo Kiley's first album, it feels suspended in time and space, the perfect soundtrack to 2 A.M. But the spareness of its sound also puts undue emphasis on her writing, and while she can structure a song, she tends to overwork her lyrics, cramming too many words into a phrase and moralizing like a college sophomore ("Still they're dying on the dark continent/it's been happening long enough to mention it" or "Are you really that pure sir?/I thought I saw you in Vegas/it was not pretty/but she was," where the Watson Twins helpfully respond with "not your wife"). At her best, her songs have a grace and flow that obscure these flaws — such as on "Happy," whose melody and attitude are not all that far removed from her most prominent booster in rock's old guard, Elvis Costello — and — even if they're still quite prominent upon any close listen. And since Rabbit Fur Coat is an album that's designed for close listening, that's a bit of a problem, but as a pure sonic experience, it's a moody, atmospheric listen that never gets quite as melancholy as it suggests and holds together better than any Rilo Kiley album to date.

The tracks are

01 Run Devil Run
02 The Big Guns
03 Rise Up With Fists!!
04 Happy
05 The Charging Sky
06 Melt Your Heart
07 You Are What You Love
08 Rabbit Fur Coat
09 Handle With Care
10 Born Secular
11 It Wasn't Me
12 Happy (Reprise)

All songs besides track 9 are written by Jenny Lewis.

PLEASE log in to see the link and do NOT copy tthe link to the comments.

Special note to Alejx:
Despite Serial I do NOT feel that you "pollute" my piblications - you are very welcome!. But, please, no more bananahead pictures. :-))

Special note to Serial:
She is NOT a she-BeerDeer! Don't even start thinkg that way :-)

Special note to a few publishers:
- MP3 files should have ID3tags and useful names instead of just track01,mp3 etc.
- A music publication should include genre and bitrate of the rip.
- Please help to keep the quality high at AvaxHome!

Enjoy it!