Jerry Goldsmith - Tora Tora Tora (1970)

Posted By: musicbook
Jerry Goldsmith - Tora Tora Tora (1970)

Soundtrack | mp3 CBR 320 Kbps 44.1 KHz | rar file Covers included
Total time: 55:57 | two files 78 + 31 MB | Released 1970

Jerry Goldsmith composed music for both major theatres of World War II in 1970: He scored the European battles in Patton and Pacific action in Tora! Tora! Tora! A joint American/Japanese production, Tora! was a painstaking and spectacular re-creation of the notorious Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor that catapulted the United States into war.

Unlike the character-driven Patton, however, Tora! Tora! Tora! concentrates on larger themes of war, nationalism, and the failure to communicate. Composer Goldsmith had more than ample experience with both the musical language of Asia (evidenced in The Spiral Road, Morituri, The Sand Pebbles and The Chairman) and the war epic (demonstrated in In Harm's Way, Von Ryan's Express and The Blue Max), making him a perfect choice. He chose to score the implacable forces of war and fate and the ancient cultural underpinnings of the Japanese warriors so vividly depicted in the film.

The split production actually presents the Japanese more heroically than the bumbling Americans, and the score is written accordingly. Goldsmith's rich title theme is decorated with menace, but at its core is a description of tragedy and tradition: Japanese martial honor unbowed by the exigencies of diplomacy. Eschewing the idea of battle music, Goldsmith left the film's climactic attack unscored and saved his most violent orchestral passages for the diplomatic and tactical preludes to war. The score bristles with the unique instrumentation and overlapping rhythms so characteristic of Goldsmith's period at 20th Century-Fox in the '60s.

1. Main Title 3:04
2. The Chancellery 1:02
3. Little Hope 1:51
4. Predictions 2:41
5. Disagreement 2:00
6. Imperial Palace 2:26
7. Mt. Niitaka 1:13
8. The Waiting Game 5:45
9. Sunday Morning 2:53
10. The 14th Part 2:38
11. Entr'acte 1:43
12. Pre-Flight Countdown 2:05
13. On the Way 1:38
14. The Final Message 4:50
Bonus Material
15. Japanese Military 4:36
16. American Military 1:36
17. Big Band Source 2:21
18. Hawaiian Radio 1:43
19. The Waiting Game (with overlay) 5:45
20. Tora Theme (piano) 1:17
21. Tora Theme (orchestra) 1:38

Links updated

Download by Rapidshare: Password if needed:

Part 1, Part 2

Enjoy de music!