J.J. Cale - Naturally (1972)

Posted By: conrad555
J.J. Cale - Naturally (1972)

J.J. Cale - Naturally (1972)
Time: 31:42
MP3 256 kbps | ~58 MB
Genre: Blues rock

J.J. Cale's debut album, Naturally, was recorded after Eric Clapton made "After Midnight" a huge success. Instead of following Slowhand's cue and constructing a slick blues-rock album, Cale recruited a number of his Oklahoma friends and made a laid-back country-rock record that firmly established his distinctive, relaxed style. Cale included a new version of "After Midnight" on the album, but the true meat of the record lay in songs like "Crazy Mama," which became a hit single, and "Call Me the Breeze," which Lynyrd Skynyrd later covered. On these songs and many others on Naturally, Cale effortlessly captured a lazy, rolling boogie that contradicted all the commercial styles of boogie, blues, and country-rock at the time. Where his contemporaries concentrated on solos, Cale worked the song and its rhythm, and the result was a pleasant, engaging album that was in no danger of raising anybody's temperature.
Review by Thom Owens, AMG


J.J. Cale - Naturally (1972)

01. Call Me The Breeze
02. Call The Doctor
03. Don't Go To Strangers
04. Woman I Have
05. Magnolia
06. Clyde
07. Crazy Mama
08. Nowhere To Run
09. After Midnight
10. River Runs Deep
11. Bringing It Back
12. Crying Eyes


Pass: popular