Joe Zawinul - Faces & Places

Posted By: Alexun
Joe Zawinul - Faces & Places

Joe Zawinul - Faces & Places

Label: Esc Records | Genre: Jazz | MP3 320 Kbps | 151 Mb | Release 2002

Principally recorded at The Music Room, Malibu, California and Hansa Haus Studios, Bonn, Germany between October 2001 & March 2002.

FACES & PLACES was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Awards for Best Contemporary Jazz Album. While former fusion keyboardists Herbie Hancock and Chick Corea have gone on–post Headhunters and Return To Forever–to record albums of standards, Weather Report's co-founder continues to explore more exotic possibilities. The fact that he has been nominated for a Grammy for best world music album (MY PEOPLE in 1997) and best contemporary jazz album (this CD in 2003) goes a long way in showing his unclassifiable nature. Drawing freely from the musical book that he helped write, Zawinul lays down polyrhythmic grooves like nobody's business with the help of his band.
Though repetition is certainly what makes these lively tracks catchy, the jazz sensibility of constantly varying restatements of themes and riffs gives the up-tempo numbers in particular, a super-charged feeling. There is rich scoring by the Weatherman here too, the instrumentation including brass, winds, and all manner of percussion from around the planet. Fine vocal contributions from bassist Etienne Mbappe, guitarist Amit Chatterjee, and Richard Page, as well as Zawinul's own vocoder-modified voice, add further to the palette of this master of cross-genres.

Guest(s): Alex Acuna; Richard Bona; Victor Bailey; Zakir Hussain

Joe Zawinul (spoken vocals, piano, keyboards, vocoder); Amit Chatterjee (vocals, guitar); Etienne Mbappe, Richard Bona (vocals, bass); Lori Perry, Maria Joao, Carol Perry, Richard Page, Sabine Kabongo (vocals); Bobby Malach (tenor saxophone, winds); Harry Kim (trumpet, flugelhorn); Lester Benedict (trombone); Paco Sery (guitar, drums, timbales, kalimba, percussion); Dean Brown (guitar); Victor Bailey (bass); Nathaniel Townsley (drums); Zakir Hussain (tabla); Rudy Regalado, Manolo Badrena (percussion).

Track listing:

1. Search
2. All About Simon
3. Introduction to Tower of Silence
4. Tower of Silence
5. Spirit of Julian “C” Adderley
6. Familiar to Me
7. Café Andalusia (A Day in Tunisia)
8. Good Day
9. Barefoot Beauty
10. Rooftops of Vienna
11. Borges Buenos Aires, Pt. 1
12. Borges Buenos Aires, Pt. 2
13. Siseya
14. East 12th Street Band

Joe Zawinul - Faces & Places