John Pizzarelli - Kisses In The Rain (2000)

Posted By: bossa_curiosa
John Pizzarelli - Kisses In The Rain (2000)

John Pizzarelli - Kisses In The Rain (2000)
Jazz | MP3 CBR 320 Kbps JS | Telarc 2000 | 40 min | 80 Mb @

"It's one thing to say, 'Let's make a record that captures the feeling of a live concert,' but another to actually do it," according to guitarist and singer John Pizzarelli. But Pizzarelli and his trio, pianist Ray Kennedy and bassist brother Martin Pizzarelli, did their damnedest - recording without headphones and in close surroundings. "The atmosphere was one of a living-room jam session," says John. "I hope that everyone who has applauded and supported us in concert will feel that this record captures some of the directness and spontaneity, the joie de vivre and vitality of that experience."
–- JAZZIZ Magazine Copyright © 2000, Milor Entertainment, Inc.

This is a diverse set of standards and original tunes that aims at the intimacy and spontaneity of John Pizzarelli's live performance with a studio setting. The singer-guitarist's long-established trio with pianist Ray Kennedy and brother Martin Pizzarelli on bass just keeps getting better, working with an instrumentation that Nat "King" Cole first perfected in the '40s and which also served Oscar Peterson well in the '50s. The trio achieves a sound that's both smooth and complex when all the parts are working in perfect synch, and that's what happening here. Whether they're flying on uptempo numbers like "I Got Rhythm," with Pizzarelli scatting in unison with his guitar, or playing at a medium bounce on the Cole signature "When I Take My Sugar to Tea," the group swings magnificently. Pizzarelli's light but resilient voice can suggest Chet Baker at slower tempos, but his relaxed delivery and conversational ease contribute to this music's distinctive charm. He sounds particularly good on some great Jimmy Van Heusen songs, both the well-known "I Thought About You" and "Polka Dots and Moonbeams" and the rarely heard "I Could Have Told You So." Pizzarelli's ingrained familiarity with the great American songbook is such that his own songs–like the witty "I Wouldn't Trade You" and the effective title ballad–sound right at home beside the classics. Kennedy wrote the sole instrumental, "Oscar Night," a fittingly ebullient tribute to Peterson. – Adam Rains, Editorial Review,


1. From Monday On
2. When I Take My Sugar to Tea
3. I'm in the Mood for Love
4. I Can't Get Up the Nerve
5. I Got Rhythm
6. When Lights Are Low
7. I Thought About You
8. Should I?
9. Don't Be That Way
10. I Could Have Told You So
11. Kisses in the Rain
12. Oscar Night
13. Polka Dota and Moonbeams
14. Baby Just Come Home to Me
15. A Lifetime or Two
16. I Wouldn't Trade You

Download from
John Pizzarelli - Kisses In The Rain (2000)

"Share as thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law." - bossa_curiosa ;-)