Keith Jarrett - Birth

Posted By: Alexun
Keith Jarrett - Birth

Keith Jarrett - Birth

Label: Wounded Bird Records | Genre: Jazz | MP3 320 Kbps | 89 Mb | Release 1972


Personnel: Keith Jarrett (vocals, soprano saxophone, recorder, piano, banjo, steel drums); Dewey Redman (vocals, tenor saxophone, Chinese musette, bells, percussion); Charlie Haden (bass, congas, steel drums, clapper); Paul Motian (drums, steel drums, bells, percussion). Recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, New York.

Pianist Keith Jarrett's sessions of July 1971 resulted in three LPs and the birth of his finest group: a quartet (and sometimes quintet) with tenor saxophonist Dewey Redman, bassist Charlie Haden, and drummer Paul Motian. This particular album has some eccentric moments, with Jarrett switching to soprano on the effective "Mortgage on My Soul" and making appearances on steel drum, recorder, and banjo (in addition to piano) on two adventurous pieces. Haden produces a variety of unusual plucked and percussive sounds with his acoustic bass, even running it through a wah-wah pedal for "Mortgage On My Soul" also. Redman is featured on Chinese musette during "Spirit" (which has Haden on conga and steel drums) and also plays some clarinet in addition to his usual tenor.

To the Jarrett´s fans: listen carefully Mortage on My Soul, you will not be dissapointed!

Track listing:

1. Birth 6:13
2. Mortgage On My Soul (Wah-Wah) 5:38
3. Spirit 8:38
4. Markings 0:37
5. Forget Your Memories (And They'll Remember You) 6:57
6. Remorse 11:22

Keith Jarrett - Birth