Kraak & Smaak - Boogie Angst

Posted By: chillerz

Kraak & Smaak - Boogie Angst
Jalapeno Records | Direct EAC-Lame 3.93 Rip 192 Kbps | Artwork Included | Release Date: 2005 | Genre: Funky Electronic

Behind funky break beat outfit ‘Kraak & Smaak’ are Dutchmen Wim Plug, Oscar de Jong and Mark Kneppers. Sharing a love of eclectical dance music, they have been working together since 2001.

Mark Kneppers is widely known in the Netherlands as DJ Knuppelhout. Under this name he compiled and mixed the ‘Refreshing’ breakbeat cd for the Dutch label Fresh Fruit in 1997 and, together with Oscar de Jong, recorded his first vinyl 12” as Noogman (‘Believer’ & ‘It talks / it walks’) on the Dutch label Polylux (2002). During his professional dj-career, he played nearly everywhere in Holland and has spinned records with artists ranging from LTJ Bukem and Optical to the Dirty Beatniks and Massive Attack.

Oscar de Jong studies music production at the music conservatory in Rotterdam, spends therefore a lot of time in confined areas and is a gifted Fender Rhodes player. Needless to say, he is also the primary knob twiddler of Kraak en Smaak. Together with Mark Kneppers, he is Noogman (see release above) and recorded a Drum & Bass remix of the Wipneus en Pim Dutch chart tune ‘Koekeloer’ (2001).

DJ Wim Plug and his alter ego Dr. Fröbel (vinylmeister in the tongue-in-cheek musical theater show ‘Dr. Fröbel’s Retro Revue’) have played all over the country, including a residency at ‘t Paard in The Hague and in clubs as Paradiso, the Effenaar, 013 and a number of festivals. During that time he also performed with Andy Smith, John Stapleton, Saul Kane / Depth Charge and DJ Aphrodite. He also is a prominent member of the multimedia turntable orchestra ‘Polyvinyl Big Band’, which performed at various music, film and art festivals, including the Rotterdam International Film Festival 2001.

01 Money In The Bag (3:45)
02 One Of These Days (4:09)
03 Keep On Searching (5:10)
04 Jolie Banane (5:45)
05 Keep Me Home (5:39)
06 Danse Macabre (5:34)
07 5 To 4 (5:25)
08 Say Yeah (5:00)
09 No Sun In The Sky (4:27)
10 Mambo Solitario (4:44)
11 Maputo Express (5:20)
12 Hello Big Mama (14:02)


Password :