Linda Ronstadt & Ann Savoy - Adieu False Heart

Posted By: flodur
Linda Ronstadt & Ann Savoy - Adieu False Heart

« Linda Ronstadt & Ann Savoy - Adieu False Heart »
Genre Folk/blues | 1 cd | mp3 192 Kb | no Covers | 58 MB

Track listing
01. Opening
02. Adieu False Heart
03. I Can't Get Over You
04. Marie Mouri
05. King Of Bohemia
06. Plus Tu Tournes
07. Go Away From My Window
08. Burns' Supper
09. The One I Love Is Gone
10. Interlude
11. Rattle My Cage
12. Parlez-Moi D'amour
13. Too Old To Die Young
14. Interlude
15. Walk Away Renee
16. Closing

This teaming of Linda Ronstadt and Cajun folk traditionalist Ann Savoy, billing themselves as the Zozo Sisters, shows how wide is the musical range of bittersweetness. The harmonies and shared lead vocals offer a complementary contrast between Ronstadt's purity of tone and Savoy's more piquant expressiveness. The arrangements turn folk songs into art songs, drawing as much upon chamber strings as Cajun fiddle and accordion. There's an exquisite beauty to the vocals, but the real surprise is how well the album holds together, given a range of material that extends from Cajun songs in French patois to stellar material from Julie Miller ("I Can't Get Over You," with husband Buddy Miller on guitar) and Richard Thompson ("King of Bohemia," "Burns' Supper") to a disarming revival of the Left Banke's 1960s hit "Walk Away Renee." Among other highlights, "Go Away from My Window" provides a showcase for the upper register of Ronstadt's soprano, and Savoy's lead vocals on Bill Monroe's "The One I Love Is Gone" bring out the blues in bluegrass.

Linda Ronstadt & Ann Savoy - Adieu False Heart