Nicola Hitchcock - Passive Aggressive (2005)

Posted By: addheat
Nicola Hitchcock - Passive Aggressive (2005)

Rapidshare | 77MB | Genre: Trip Hop/Chillout | Year: 2005 | 192kbps

Nicola was born in Paddington, London and now lives in the West Country. She inherited her ear for music from her father who was a natural musician "he could pick out a tune on any instrument". Sitting beside him at the piano she learned how to improvise around a tune from an early age. Her formative years in the industry were spent working as a backing vocalist for a variety of bands - doubling up on harmonica, accordion, electric & acoustic guitar, keyboard & percussion, she paid her dues gigging around London's live music circuit and got her first taste of working in studios. Inspired and excited by the music of Portishead and Massive Attack at this time (and feeling a little out of place on the folk/acoustic scene) Nicola sought a collaborator in the pages of Melody Maker. Her response to an advert placed by Chrysalis Music led to a meeting with Saul Freeman (ex-Thieves/McAlmont) and the formation of Mandalay. On completion of Mandalay's first demos they were fiercely courted by the majors but opted instead to sign to David Steele's independent Organic Records. The first single release "Flowers Bloom" got single of the week in Melody Maker.Shortly after this release, David Steele was asked to head up Richard Branson's new label V2 Records and took Mandalay with him. Mandalay's debut album "Empathy" was released to critical acclaim. Co-produced with Guy Sigsworth (Bjork, Madonna, Bebel Gilberto) it featured drummer and percussionist Steve Jansen (Japan) and the beautiful ethereal sounds of Jon Hassell on trumpet (Brian Eno, Harold Budd). On hearing "Empathy", Madonna sited Mandalay as her favourite band and chose the first single "This Life" to be featured on the film soundrack for her film. "The Next Best Thing". "This Life" was also chosen to feature on the soundtrack to the hit British film "This Year's Love".

Track Listings

1. You Will Feel Like This - Nicola Hitchcock, Lenny Ibizarre
2. All or Nothing - Chris Brann, Nicola Hitchcock
3. Moving into a New Space - Nicola Hitchcock, Sounds from the Ground
4. Heart - Chris Brann, Nicola Hitchcock
5. I Forgive Me - Nicola Hitchcock, Sounds from the Ground
6. Cloudy Skies & Rain - Nicola Hitchcock, Lenny Ibizarre
7. Feel - Nicola Hitchcock
8. Ordinary Day - Nicola Hitchcock, Lenny Ibizarre
9. Surrender - Nicola Hitchcock, Hector Zazou
10. Because - Michael J. Ade, , Nicola Hitchcock
11. Morning - Nicola Hitchcock, Hector Zazou, Hector Zazou