Marcus Miller - Silver Rain [2005]

Posted By: chiphu

Marcus Miller - Silver Rain
2005 | Jazz/Bass Solo | VBR-MP3 | 103MB | Download

Marcus Miller is foremost known as a Grammy-winning bass player, but as he proves on Silver Rain, Miller is equally formidable as an arranger. Taking songs from a disparate mix of artists that includes Stevie Wonder, Duke Ellington, Jimi Hendrix, Edgar Winter, Beethoven and Prince, Miller’s skills are in almost embarrassing abundance here. On Edgar Winter’s 70s rock jam "Frankenstein", his band (including the likes of Kirk Whalum on tenor and Kenny Garret on alto) flat out wails, but Miller’s slapping bass keeps the groove completely locked down. In contrast, his take on Beethoven’s "Moonlight Sonata" sets the stage for Miller’s mellow-groove skills while the cover of Stevie Wonder’s "Boogie On Reggae a Woman" is Miller at his intricate, funky best. On Prince’s "Girls & Boys", Macy Gray adds her swooping, sensual vocals while Eric Clapton sits in on the title track. Clocking in at around 75 minutes, this CD is full to bursting, but what’s striking here is not the quantity, but the quality. Miller is able to effortlessly make this material his own; moreover he is able to take an impossibly diverse set of songs and construct an album with real cohesion and flow. There is a lot happening on this album, as multi-instrumentalist Miller swaps instruments, moods and musicians from tune to tune, to his credit, however, he never loses the trail. The result is an extremely enjoyable album and an apt platform for Miller’s many, many talents.

1. Intro Duction
2. Bruce Lee
3. La Villette
4. Behind The Smile
5. Frankenstein
6. Moonlight Sonata
7. Boogie On Reggae Woman
8. Paris (Interlude)
9. Silver Rain
10. Make Up My Mind
11. Girls And Boys
12. Sophisticated Lady
13. Power Of Soul
14. Outro Duction
15. If Only For One Night

UPLOAD2.NET (Individual Parts)
Part 1:[part1].rar.html

Part 2:[part2].rar.html

Part 3:[part3].rar.html

Part 4:[part4].rar.html

Part 5:[part5].rar.html