Marta Sebestyen - Apocrypha

Posted By: amadou
Marta Sebestyen - Apocrypha

Marta Sebestyen - Apocrypha
Mp3 - 224 Kbs | 76 MB | Genre: World Music, Central Europe
Release Date: March 20, 1992 | Label: Hannibal

If anyone could be described as the Hungarian equivalent of Enya, it would be Marta Sebestyen. Many of the songs on this best-of CD, which was released in 1992 and focuses on her innovations of the mid- to late 1980s, have a tranquil quality not unlike what you'd find on one of Enya's albums. New age audiences seemed to appreciate the tranquil nature of "Ne Menj, Szivem," "Szerelem, Szerelem," "Hegyen, Volgyon" and other songs that used synthesizers and electronic instrumentation extensively. And yet, it would be misleading to label Sebestyen a new age artist. Not only is Apocryha much meatier than a lot of the music labeled new age, but also, these songs are based on traditional Hungarian folk melodies. Sebestyen and her arranger Karoly Cserepes (who plays most of the synthesizers and is also heard on flute) have taken Hungarian musical traditions and done something very fresh-sounding with them. For those exploring Sebestyen's music for the first time, Apocryha would be the most appropriate starting point.

1. Tavasz Tavasz
2. A Piac Kozepen
3. Zugadoz Az Erdo
4. Andreas
5. Betlehem, Betlehem
6. Ne Menj, Szivem
7. Hegyen-Volgyon
8. Apokrif
9. Szerelem, Szerelem
10. Elment Az En Rozsam