Mojo Buford - Home is Where My Harp Is (1998)

Posted By: franklee
Mojo Buford -  Home is Where My Harp Is (1998)

Mojo Buford - Home is Where My Harp Is (1998)
Label: Blue Loon | Year: 1998 | MP3 | 320 kBit/s | 131 MB

No, that's not a typo in the title. Those with personal knowledge of former Muddy Waters sideman Mojo Buford will tell you that this was a perfectly fitting title for his third Blue Loon release. All tunes were recorded at New Moon Studio in Mpls., half with The Senders and half with harp player Curtis Blake, several members of the Rough Cuts, and piano man Mike "Hook" Deutsch - all from Minneapolis. Buford wrote all but two of the thirteen songs, from the Hooker-influenced opener, "Mo's Boogie", to the swingin' "Harp Breaker". The lyrics are classic Mojo, enough to crack up anyone who's listened to their share of ol' time style blues vocals. In the fifth track, he sings "You can steal my chickens, but you sho can't make 'em lay; you can steal my woman, but you sure can't make her stay." Or how about this one: "We gonna boogie 'til my hair turn wet." (That's not a typo either). Mojo's harp sounds particularly sweet and catchy when paired with Curtis Blake's. Dave "Cool Breeze" Brown does a sweet, T-Bone style guitar solo on "Cool & Mo Better Blues", Mark Asche is wonderful throughout on piano, and Bill Black lays down a very funky bass solo on "I Want You To Be My Girl". It is the tracks with Blake and the Roughcuts that stand out, however. Blake's engaging harp lines actually bring to mind a visual of squawking, pecking chickens on "You Can Steal My Chicken". Dan Schwalbe's guitar playing is mighty tasty on all tracks, but is especially ear-catching on "Memphis Bound"… by Ann Wickstrom, All Music Guide


01 - Mo's Boogie
02 - Pickin' Rags
03 - Cool & Mo Better Blues
04 - I Want You To Be My Girl
05 - You Can Steal My Chicken
06 - Gonna Get A Watchdog
07 - Harp Breaker
08 - All Over The World
09 - Trouble Don't Always Last
10 - Don't Go No Further
11 - Memphis Bound
12 - Evilina
13 - Shame

Covers & tags included.