Oscar Peterson Trio - A Jazz Portrait of Frank Sinatra

Posted By: mattoid
Master pianist Oscar Peterson works the ivories in typically impressive fashion on this 1959 tribute to Frank Sinatra. Performing with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen, Peterson runs through 12 instrumental versions of songs made popular by Ol' Blue Eyes, including, naturally, faithful renditions of Sinatra signatures "Witchcraft" and "I Get a Kick Out of You".

Though the trio takes a swinging, intensely jazzy approach to these tunes, there is no excessive stretching out here–each cut clocks in at less than four minutes. Likewise, Peterson, Brown, and Thigpen colour strictly inside the lines here, keeping things highly melodic, laid-back, and elegant. This is music more appropriate to a candlelit dinner than to a smoky club. But the appeal of A JAZZ PORTRAIT OF FRANK SINATRA is in this very distinction; Peterson and company quite obviously set this date to make an intimate, romantic, and beautifully listenable record.


1. You Make Me Feel So Young
2. Come Dance With Me
3. Learnin' The Blues
4. Witchcraft
5. Tender Trap
6. Saturday Night (Is The Loneliest Night Of The Week)
7. Just In Time
8. It Happened In Monterey
9. I Get A Kick Out Of You
10. All Of Me
11. Birth Of The Blues
12. How About You

Simply a re-up of Apache's previous post that was removed.