ISLANDS - Return to the Sea (April 2006)

Posted By: galmuchet
Audio CD (April 18, 2006)

01. Swan (Life After Death)
02. Humans
03. Don't Call Me Whitney, Bobby
04. Rough Gem
05. Tsuxiit
06. Where There's A Will, There's a Whalebone
07. Joggin Gorgeous Summer
08. Volcanoes
09. If
10. Ones
11. Bucky Little Wing (Bug at half-time for this song… :-( )

77.4 Mb
Pass : galmuchet

Islands sprouted out of the kindred x-ray vision of Nick Diamonds and J'aime Tambeur, two rag-tag youths from the weird side of the tracks. Previously, they'd worked together in sludge-crust band The Unicorns. This time they'd be exploring a music best catalogued as 'other', in what seems a tribute to the timeless sound of great pop music. The album combines rhythms and sounds of cultures in the southern and eastern hemispheres, as well as a dash of rap. Return To The Sea was recorded in the sweaty month of July while Islands was still merely a couple of lonely icebergs, not yet an archipelago. So local friends, including Richard Reed Parry, Regine Chasagne, Tim Kingsbury, Sarah Neufeld, Dan Boeckner, Spencer Krug, and lil' Mikey Feukrstack lent their valiant efforts to the recording process. 11 tracks. Rough Trade.