Roy Orbison - The Legendary Roy Orbison (4 CD Box Set)(1990)

Posted By: franklee
Roy Orbison - The Legendary Roy Orbison (4 CD Box Set)(1990)

Artist: Roy Orbison
Title: The Legendary Roy Orbison
Label: Sony
Genre: Rock
Type: Box Set (4 CD's)
Released: 1990
Format: MP3
Bitrate: VBR
CD 1: avg 150 kBit/s
CD 2: avg 147 kBit/s
CD 3: avg 148 kBit/s
CD 4: avg 150 kBit/s
Size: 226 MB (incl. 5% Recovery record)


Tracing Roy Orbison's career from its beginnings at Sun through his big hits at Monument to his largely forgotten late-'60s recordings for MGM, the four-disc set is an exhaustive, definitive history of Orbison's peak years. Yes, his late-'80s comeback is missing (this was released a year before Mystery Girl, after all), but this is still as exhaustive as most serious listeners will likely need, since it contains nearly every crucial track, plus such rarities as non-LP soundtrack contributions (including the title song to the Orbison-starrer Fastest Guitar Alive). It does lose momentum toward the end, since Orbison's material starts to dip in quality, but there still are some hidden gems to be discovered. Hardcore fans will probably be better off with Bear Family's exhaustive Orbison, which has all the Sun and Monument recordings, and wait for the inevitable MGM sequel. Those that want a comprehensive, but not complete, overview will be more than satisfied with this set. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Chet Atkins, Floyd Cramer, Hank Garland, The Jordanaires (Choir, Chorus), Roy Orbison (Guitar), Roy Orbison (Vocals), Roy Orbison (Main Performer), Jim Hall (Arranger), Anita Kerr (Vocal Arrangement), Harold Bradley, Mike Curb (Producer), Ray Edenton, Colin Escott (Liner Notes), Fred Foster (Producer), Solie Fott, Buddy Harmon, Lillian Hunt, Jerry Kennedy, Jack Kennelly, Bill McElhiney (Orchestration), James Morrow, Boots Randolph, Wesley Rose (Producer), Billy Sanford, Val Valentin (Engineer), Jim Vienneau (Producer), Johnny Wilson, Jerry Byrd, Billy Pat Ellis, Charlie McCoy, Elbert Raymond "Dutch" McMillin, Bob Moore, John Berg (Design), Ken Robertson (Digital Mastering), Ebet Roberts (Photography), Tom Asalone (Art Direction), Nick Shaffran (Compilation Producer), Velma Williams, Ann Summa (Photography), Bill Porter (Engineer), Joe Tanner (Arranger)



1. Tryin' To Get To You
2. Ooby Dooby
3. Go, Go, Go
4. Rock House
5. You're My Baby
6. Devil Doll
7. Claudette
8. Seems To Me
9. Sweet And Innocent
10. Almost Eighteen
11. Jolie
12. I'll Never Tell
13. With The Bug
14. Paper Boy
15. Uptown
16. Pretty One
17. Only The Lonely
18. Here Comes That Song Again
19. Blue Angel


1. Today's Teardrops
2. I'm Hurtin'
3. I Can't Stop Lovin' You
4. Running Scared
5. Love Hurts
6. Crying
7. Candy Man
8. Dream Baby
9. The Actress
10. The Crowd
11. Mama
12. Working For The Man
13. Leah
14. In Dreams
15. Shahdaroba
16. Falling
17. Distant Drums
18. Blue Bayou
19. Mean Woman Blues


1. Pretty Paper
2. Beautiful Dreamer
3. It's Over
4. Indian Wedding
5. Oh, Pretty Woman - (mono "single" version)
6. Yo Te Amo Maria
7. Goodnight
8. Only With You
9. Say You're My Girl
10. Sleepy Hollow
11. Let The Good Times Roll
12. Lana
13. Summersong
14. Belinda
15. No Chain At All
16. Southern Man (I'm A)
17. Born To Love Me
18. Drifting Away
19. Under Suspicion


1. Ride Away
2. Crawling Back
3. Breakin' Up Is Breakin' My Heart
4. Cry Softly Lonely One
5. Borne On The Wind - (previously unreleased)
6. Mama (German)
7. San Fernando (German)
8. Gigolette (They Call You) - (previously unreleased)
9. Dance - (alternate version)
10. Can't Wait
11. I Don't Really Want You
12. Something You Can't Take Away
13. Indian Summer
14. Fastest Guitar Alive, The - (from "The Fastest Guitar Alive")
15. So Young - (from "Zabriskie Point")
16. Zigzag - (from "Zigzag")
17. It Takes All Kinds Of People - (from "Moonshine War")
18. Wild Hearts - (from "Insignificance")

Part 1 (80 MB)

Part 2 (80 MB)

Part 2 (65.8 MB)