ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW - Sinner's Serenade (1997)

Posted By: 2zero4
ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW - Sinner's Serenade (1997)

ETERNAL TEARS OF SORROW - 1997 - Sinner's Serenade
Death-Doom | MP3 VBR V0 85 Mb | APE+CUE 290 Mb | 0:43:48

Band info
Country: Finland
Label: Spinefarm
Official website:
Disbanded [2003]
Reformed [2005]

Vocals, bass: Altti Vetelainen [1991-2003, 2005-]
Guitars: Risto Ruuth [2005-]
Guitars: Jarmo Puolakanaho [1991-2003, 2005-]
Drums: Petri Sankala [1992-1993, 1999-2003, 2005-]
Keyboards: Janne Tolsa [2005-]

Eternal Tears of Sorrow (EToS) is a symphonic death metal band that was formed in Pudasjärvi in Northern Finland.

The band was officially formed in 1994 by Jarmo Puolakanaho, Altti Veteläinen and Olli-Pekka Törrö, after some previous various metal projects (Andromeda, MDC, DWN) between 1991 and 1994, involving some or all of these three members.

Andromeda had been put on hold in late 1992 because the rehearsal place had burned down. It took some while for the members to understand the town wouldn't give them a new rehearsal place for a while, so they (Altti, Jarmo and Olli) decided to start up a new project, MDC, and recorded a demo tape in autumn 1993. However, the songs on the demo were much better than they had expected, so they decided to go on. In spring 1994, they recorded a new demo, The Seven Goddesses of Frost. Because the project had become a serious band, they decided to change their name to Eternal Tears of Sorrow. Between 1994 and 1996 was busy (inspite of all of the members doing their compulsary military services): they recorded another demo tape (Bard's Burial), had a couple of songs on some compilation CDs in Europe and Canada and recorded their debut album, Sinner's Serenade.

It took more than a year for the debut album to get released by X-Treme Records, a small underground label from Gothenburg, Sweden. Since the second album, Vilda Mánnu, they have released their albums through Spinefarm Records. Outside Finland, the albums have been licenced by different labels such as Drakkar Records in German-speaking countries and Fono Records in Russia.

Their third album Chaotic Beauty (on which the band had three new members) might have been the most successful album so far as they went to an European tour with Nightwish and Sinergy promoting the album. However, it was their fourth album A Virgin and a Whore that went to the Finnish Album TOP 40 charts.

After releasing four albums, the band announced having a break just after the release of A Virgin and a Whore. In 2002 the band announced they were going to have a long break. However, they broke up in January 2003, the reasons being the members' interest in trying something completely different, or just taking a complete break from the music business.

In February 2005, the band announced they were to make a comeback. The album was being written and recorded during the year, and the fifth album Before the Bleeding Sun is due to be released in April 2006.

01. Dawn 0.52
02. Another One Falls Asleep 5.37
03. The Law of the Flames 3.41
04. Dirge 5.26
05. Into the Deepest Waters 1.58
06. Sinner's Serenade 5.02
07. My God, the Evil Wind 4.40
08. March 4.56
09. Bard's Burial 1.29
10. The son of the forest 4.23
11. Empty eyes 5.39

Total time 43.48