Sun Ra Arkestra - Mayan Temples

Posted By: Garina
Sun Ra Arkestra - Mayan Temples

Sun Ra Arkestra - Mayan Temples
Flac | 423.2 MB | CD-DA Easy Extractor | Cue | Covers | Label: Black Saint | CD 1990 | 79:03
Recorded July 24 and 25, 1990 at Milano

One of the finest Sun Ra recordings from his final years, this effort is particularly recommended due to the many Ra keyboard solos and John Gilmore features, the latter of which include a tenor showcase on "Opus In Springtime." Trumpeters Michael Ray and Ahmed Abdullah, altoist Marshall Allen and singer June Tyson also have their spots, and the repertoire consists of ten Ra originals (including a remake of "El Is the Sound of Joy") and three standard ballads. Overall, this is a fine all-around studio set. Recommended. All Music Guide


Sun Ra – piano, synthesizer
Marshall Allen – alto saxophone, flute
John Gilmore – tenor saxophone, timbales
Noel Scott – alto saxophone
Michael Ray – trumpet, vocal
Ahmed Abdullah – trumpet, vocal
James Jackson – bassoon, African drums
Jothan Callins – bass, electric bass
Clifford Barbaro – drums
Earl “Buster” Smith – drums
Ron McBee – congas and percussion
Jorge Silva – percussion
Elson Nascimento – surdo percussion
June Tyson - vocal

Track Listing:

1. Dance Of The Language Barrier
2. Bygone
3. Disciplina No. 1
4. Alone Together
5. Prelude To Stargazers
6. Mayan Temples
7. Ill Never Be The Same
8. Sardust From Tomorrow
9. El Is The Sound Of Joy
10. Time After Time
11. Opus In Springtime
12. Theme On The Stargazers
13. Sunset On The Night On The River Nile