Posted By: Helden

Official Grammy Award Winner- 2004

Since the powers that be nudged Santana to create an all-star duet album to connect with a younger audience, similar records have hit the shelves, but none struck a cord like the Grammy powerhouse, Supernatural. The special guests tended to be a bit too commercially special as opposed to cohesively creative. Thankfully, Toots Hibbert entered the collaboration game, but left the teenyboppers and exposed boobs off the lineup, opting for a more mature, authentic all-star cast to join him on True Love. The result is far from a Maytals reggae classic, but it’s a nice collection of what must have been one hell of a recording process.
With a legendary roster that includes Willie Nelson, Bonnie Raitt, Eric Clapton, Keith Richards, Jeff Beck and Trey Anastasio, it’s tough to find a misfire, but some songs, regardless of player, naturally lend themselves to the reinterpretation they succumb to.
Willie’s “Still Is Still Moving To Me” patiently allows both singers to float it’s vocals in the warm Jamaican breeze. Relative newcomer-phenom, Ryan Adams, establishes himself with the best of them on the poignant, “Time Tough.” Ska gets a full treatment in both No Doubt’s track, “Monkey Man,” and the bouncy rhythms of “Never Grow Old,” thanks to The Skatalites.
Reggae cousin, hip-hop, gives “Funky Kingston” a progressive makeover compliments of Bootsy Collins and The Roots. The reminiscing ballad, “Love Gonna Walk Out On Me” is a beautiful duet with Ben Harper, but of course, the deep dub of “Take A Trip,” with its timeless political commentary, Bunny Wailer vocals and Clapton guitar work is the standout track. Thus proving, all the bells and whistles are a treat, but Toots just doing what he does best feels most like home.

1 Still Is Still Moving To Me (feat. Willie Nelson) 3:11
2 True Love Is Hard To Find (feat. Bonnie Raitt) 4:27
3 Pressure Drop (feat. Eric Clapton) 2:57
4 Time Tough (feat. Ryan Adams) 3:23
5 Bam Bam (feat. Shaggy & Rahzel) 3:47
6 54-46 Was My Number (feat. Jeff Beck) 4:40
7 Monkey Man (feat. No Doubt) 3:39
8 Sweet And Dandy (feat. Trey Anastasio) 3:17
9 Funky Kingston (feat. Bootsy Collins & The Roots) 4:06
10 Reggae Got Soul (feat. Ken Boothe & Marcia Griffiths) 2:58
11 Never Grow Old (feat. Terry Hall, The Skatalites & U-Roy) 3:27
12 Take A Trip (feat. Bunny Wailer) 3:57
13 Love Gonna Walk Out On Me (feat. Ben Harper) 3:34
14 Careless Ethiopians (feat. Keith Richards) 3:21
15 Blame On Me (feat. Rachael Yamagata) 3:59

¡Carpe diem & enjoy yourself!