Victor Wooten - Soul Circus [2005]

Posted By: chiphu

Victor Wooten - Soul Circus
2005 | Jazz Fusion/Bass Solo | VBR-MP3 | 97.6MB

For his first solo album in four years, Victor Wooten is still establishing himself as an innovator and growing musician. Among Grammys with the Flecktones and numerous other awards, he holds the only chair for being named “Bassist of the Year” three times by Bass Player magazine, and with his new album Soul Circus (his debut on Vanguard) it is apparent why.
Soul Circus is very accessible to the listener with virtually every song manifested for radio-play. The album stretches over a variety of musical genres, from the hard rocking “Higher Law” to the world music essence of “Back to India,” featuring Speech from Arrested Development. And while his solos are nothing less than spectacular, there are no strictly-bass compositions, which really sets this record apart from the rest on his earlier efforts.
Also adding to the mix are a heaping helping of Wooten’s good friends, family, and great bass players. Joseph Wooten, Regi Wooten, JD Blair, Jaques Jones, T.M. Stevens, Will Lee, Alvin Chea, Christian McBride, John Cowan, Rhonda Smith, Steve Bailey, Bill Dickens, Gary Grainger, Oteil Burbridge and MC Divinity are all accessed on “Bass Tribute.” The name of the track is certainly fitting, for it pays homage to many of Victor’s influences in the bass world. He executes this tribute by cleverly playing the riffs of his bass heroes after vocally bringing them to the table. While most of the guests only sing and leave it up to Victor to represent his favorite bass lines it is a fully powerful piece.
To bring a four stringed bass out in front of an audience and really make it a lead instrument is no easy task. Soul Circus captures that, but catching Wooten and his band in a live setting will really let you know what he had in mind for this album.

1. Intro: Adam
2. Victa
3. Bass Tribute
4. Prayer
5. Natives
6. Can't Hide Love
7. Stay
8. On And On
9. Cell Phone
10. Back To India
11. Soul Circus
12. Higher Law
13. Take U There
14. Ari's Eyes
15. Outro: Kids
16. Bass Tribute (Reprise)

Download (