Judy Collins & Ari Hest - Silver Skies Blue (2016)

Posted By: funkerman
Judy Collins & Ari Hest - Silver Skies Blue (2016)

Judy Collins & Ari Hest - Silver Skies Blue (2016)
Folk, Singer/Songwriter | MP3 320 kbps | 45:11 min | ~104 Mb
Label: Cleopatra Records | Tracks: 12 | 2016

Fresh from the success of her hugely popular duets album, last year's Strangers Again (27,000 units scanned so far!), folk icon Judy Collins presents an all new full length collaboration with Bronx born singer/songwriter Ari Hest!
Though many decades her junior, Ari and Judy have an undeniable vocal chemistry that fans have already heard on the aforementioned Strangers Again album (they sang the title track) as well as on Judy's Live In Ireland album, so this release is a natural next step for this exciting, new, and incredibly gifted duo!
Judith Marjorie Collins (affectionately known as Judy Blue Eyes) is an American singer and songwriter known for her eclectic tastes in the material she records (which has included folk music, show tunes, pop music, rock and roll and standards) and for her social activism.

Collins' debut album A Maid of Constant Sorrow was released in 1961, but it was her cover of Joni Mitchell's Both Sides, Now, the lead single from her 1967 album Wildflowers, that gave Collins international prominence. The single hit the Top 10 on the Billboard Pop Singles chart and won Collins her first Grammy Award for Best Folk Performance. She enjoyed further success with her covers of Someday Soon,Chelsea Morning,Amazing Grace,and Cook with Honey.

Collins experienced the biggest success of her career with her cover of Stephen Sondheim's Send in the Clowns from her best-selling 1975 album Judith. The single charted on the Billboard Pop Singles chart in 1975 and then again in 1977, spending 27 non-consecutive weeks on the chart and earning Collins a Grammy Award nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance, Female, as well as a Grammy Award for Sondheim for Song of the Year.

1. Drifting Away (3:19)
2. I Choose Love (3:01)
3. Silver Skies Blue (3:06)
4. The Weight (3:16)
5. Slow Burn (3:17)
6. Let You In (3:57)
7. Run (4:15)
8. Aberdeen (4:38)
9. Elena (3:33)
10. Secret Harbor (4:33)
11. Home Before Dark (3:35)
12. Strangers Again (4:41)