Sarah Vaughan - Viva Vaughan! (Repost)

Posted By: melloman
Sarah Vaughan - Viva Vaughan! (Repost)

Sarah Vaughan - Viva Vaughan!
APE (separated files), Log, no cue | EAC + Monkey Audio | 232 MB
5% recovery record | No scans | Jazz, Bossa Nova | Original release: 1965. Verve Master Edition 2001

Sarah Vaughan's Viva! Vaughan is a curious blend of jazz and pop with Latin percussion, with arrangements by ex-Basie sideman Frank Foster, recorded in the midst of the mid-'60s bossa nova craze. Vaughan is in great voice throughout the date and the material is generally first-rate, except for the bland "Night Song." Although the back of the CD hypes a "full-scale" orchestra, it is an unusual blend with seven trombones, flute, violins, piano, bass, and drums, plus Latin percussion, but no trumpets or saxophones. Foster's best arrangements omit the string section, including a swinging take of Henry Mancini's "Mr. Lucky," a wild if brief "Avalon," a campy "Tea for Two," and Foster's own "Shiny Stockings." Unfortunately, the bossa nova selections ("The Boy From Ipanema" and "Quiet Nights") are burdened with pedestrian string arrangements that date the music as much as the generally uninspired Latin percussion. It's likely that this lack of focus confused the record-buying public as to what type of music this was and caused it to be overlooked. The brevity of the tracks and the lack of solo opportunities for the strong supporting cast (which includes Kai Winding, Jerome Richardson, Barry Galbraith, George Duvivier, among others) make it seem like receiving airplay was a major goal of this release. However, the golden voice of Sarah Vaughan is this CD reissue's most dominant factor, and it is worth acquiring. ~ Ken Dryden, All Music Guide
I posted this cd few months ago, but for some reason it was deleted, so I´m posting here again.

* Sarah Vaughan - vocals
* Jerome Richardson - flute
* Wayne Andre - trombone
* Billy Byers
* Jimmy Cleveland
* Paul Faulise
* Benny Powell
* Bill Watrous
* Kai Winding
* Britt Woodman
* Dick Hixson - bass trombone
* Bernard Eichen - violin
* Lewis Eley
* Leo Kruczek
* Charles Libove
* Harry Lookofsky
* David Nadien
* Gene Orloff
* Tosha Samaroff
* Barry Galbraith - guitar
* Bob James - piano
* Willie Bobo - percussion
* Juan Cadavieco
* Jose Mangual
* Willie Rodriguez
* Raphael Sierra
* Bobby Donaldson - drums
* George Duvivier - double bass
* Robert Rodriguez
* Frank Foster - arranger, conductor
* Quincy Jones - producer

1. "The Boy from Ipanema" (Vinícius de Moraes, Norman Gimbel, Antonio Carlos Jobim) – 2:30
2. "Fascinating Rhythm" (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 2:37
3. "Night Song" (Lee Adams, Charles Strouse) – 3:14
4. "Mr. Lucky" (Ray Evans, Jay Livingston, Henry Mancini) – 2:29
5. "Fever" (Eddie Cooley, Otis Blackwell) – 2:49
6. "Shiny Stockings" (Frank Foster) – 3:27
7. "Avalon" (Buddy DeSylva, Al Jolson, Vincent Rose) – 1:48
8. "Tea for Two" (Irving Caesar, Vincent Youmans) – 2:44
9. "Corcovado" (Jobim, Gene Lees) – 3:23
10. "Stompin' at the Savoy" (Benny Goodman, Andy Razaf, Edgar Sampson, Chick Webb) – 2:44
11. "Moment of Truth" (Tex Satterwhite, Frank Scott) – 2:39
12. "Jive Samba" (Nat Adderley) – 3:03
13. "A Taste of Honey" (Ric Marlow, Bobby Scott) – 2:51