Ahmad Jamal: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Sessions

Posted By: Alexix
Ahmad Jamal: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Sessions

Ahmad Jamal: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Sessions
Jazz | Pt 75:34 | Full scan | Mp3 320 > 199 Mb | Ape > 269 Mb
Label: Epic | rec 1951-55 | 2005

Recorded between 1951 and `55, these LEGENDARY OKEH & EPIC sessions present the revered, though often underrated, jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal hitting his stride. Backed by Ray Crawford on guitar and either Israel Crosby or Eddie Calhoun on bass, Jamal unveils inventive percussion-less takes on a number of standards, along with two originals, with his spare yet energetic piano work showcased on every track. These are the recordings that directly influenced Miles Davis`s late-`50s aesthetic, and this beautifully remastered collection is a reissue of the highest order. For aficionados of jazz piano, this album is essential.


1. Surrey With The Fringe On Top, The
2. Will You Still Be Mine
3. Ahmad`s Blues
4. Gal In Calico, A
5. Aki & Ukthay
6. Billy Boy
7. Black Beauty
8. Love For Sale
9. Something To Remember You By
10. Poinciana
11. Don`t Blame Me
12. Autumn Leaves
13. They Can`t Take That Away From Me
14. Old Devil Moon
15. It`s Easy To Remember
16. Squeeze Me
17. Crazy He Calls Me
18. Pavanne
19. Perfidia
20. Rica Pulpa
21. Donkey Serenade, The

Ahmad Jamal Piano
Ray Crawford Guitar
Eddie Calhoun Acoustic bass (1-6)
Israel Crosby Acoustic bass (7-21)


Ape (separated)

Ahmad Jamal: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Sessions

Visit Alexix Avax Blog