Archie Shepp - The Magic Of Ju-Ju

Posted By: intotherhythm
Archie Shepp - The Magic Of Ju-Ju

Archie Shepp - The Magic Of Ju-Ju (1967)
mp3@320Kbps | 80Mb covers | Label: Impulse | Total time: 35:07 | Genre: Free jazz

On this 1967 Impulse release, tenor saxophonist Archie Shepp unleashed his 18-minute tour de force "The Magic of Ju-Ju," combining free jazz tenor with steady frenetic African drumming. Shepp's emotional and fiery tenor takes off immediately, gradually morphing with the five percussionists – Beaver Harris, Norman Connor, Ed Blackwell, Frank Charles, and Dennis Charles – who perform on instruments including rhythm logs and talking drums.

Shepp never loses the initial energy, moving forward like a man possessed as the drumming simultaneously builds into a fury. Upon the final three minutes, the trumpets of Martin Banks and Michael Zwerin make an abrupt brief appearance, apparently to ground the piece to a halt. This is one of Shepp's most chaotic yet rhythmically hypnotic pieces. The three remaining tracks, somewhat overshadowed by the title piece, are quick flourishes of free bop on "Shazam," "Sorry Bout That," and the slower, waltz-paced "You're What This Day Is All About." - by Al Campbell, AMG

1. The Magic Of Ju-Ju 18:30
2. You're What This Day Is All About 1:50
3. Shazam 4:41
4. Sorry 'Bout That 10:05

Archie Shepp (Tenor Saxophone)
Martin Banks (Trumpet and Flugelhorn)
Denis Charles (Percussion)
Frank Charles (Drums and Talking Drum)
Norman Connors (Drums)
Beaver Harris (Drums)
Reggie Workman (Double Bass)
Mike Zwerin (Trumpet and Trombone)
Ed Blackwell (Percussion)

Visit my blog: