Dead Can Dance - Aion

Posted By: edisni25
Aion whit it's medieval essence was the first major success for Dead Can Dance

EAN: 0093624557524
Format: Original recording reissued
Label: 4ad / Wea
Manufacturer: 4ad / Wea
Number Of Discs: 1
Publisher: 4ad / Wea
Release Date: February 15, 1994
Studio: 4ad / Wea

Track Listings:
1. The Arrival And The Reunion
2. Saltarello
3. Mephisto
4. The Song Of The Sibyl
5. Fortune Presents Gifts Not According To The Book
6. As The Bell Rings The Maypole Spins
7. The End Of Words
8. Black Sun
9. Wilderness
10. The Promised Womb
11. The Garden Of Zephirus
12. Radharc

Editorial Reviews -
Long before No Doubt brought back ska and Big Bad Voodoo Daddy resurrected swing, Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry were making music that recalled an earlier time. How early? Try the Renaissance. Everything old–really old–is new again on Aion, the band's fifth and arguably finest album. Like DCD's other discs, Aion revolves around the interplay between Gerrard's soaring glossolalia and Perry's baritone crooning. A range of styles are explored, from the polyphonic choral heights of "The Arrival and the Reunion" to the smooth balladry of "Fortune Presents Gifts Not According to the Book" to the Middle Eastern sensuality of "Radharc." Other standout tracks include the playful "Saltarello," a traditional 14th-century instrumental dance piece, and "As the Bell Rings the Maypole Spins," a strikingly melodic song carried by bagpipes and Gerrard's angelic voice. –Steve Landau