Djivan Gasparayan & Michael Brook - Black Rock

Posted By: amadou
Djivan Gasparayan & Michael Brook - Black Rock

Djivan Gasparayan & Michael Brook - Black Rock
MP3 224 Kbps | 70 Mb | Genre: World
Release Date: October 20, 1998 | Label: Real World

Djivan Gasparyan and Michael Brook have both made their mark in the musical world as artists that have deep devotion and skill, as well as innovative streaks that can get them in trouble sometimes. They seem to have found an outlet for all of these abilities on Black Rock. Their collaboration is an inspired idea, and through much of this recording the Canadian guitarist and the Armenian duduk (oboe) master and singer find some gorgeous common ground–counterpoints of darkness and light, and conflicts befitting the source and subject matter of their work together. The temptations to studio additions seems to have beguiled them and producer Richard Evans into some rather well-traveled aural clich&eacut;s, however, and a number of the tracks here are lightweight fusions designed for identifiable mood rather than substance. Each musician is a talented individual who has clearly found inspiration in the other, but the translation to disc is uneven, with high moments of beautiful pathos undercut but by just one more easy-to-approach rhythm track.

1. To The River
2. Fallen Star
3. Take My Heart
4. Together Forever
5. Freedom
6. Forbidden Love
7. Immigrant's Song
8. Dark Souls