Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble - Mnemosyne

Posted By: Alexun
Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble - Mnemosyne

Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble - Mnemosyne

Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble - Mnemosyne - 2 CD SET

Label: ECM | genre: various | mp3 VBR ~252 Kbps | Release: 1999 | Total Time: 1: 45 02 | 95 MB + 77 MB


John Potter: Tenor (Vocal), Liner Notes, David James: Counter Tenor (Vocal), Gordon Jones: Baritone (Vocal), Rogers Covey - Crump: tenor (Vocal).
Jan Garbarek: Saxophone, Sax (Soprano), Main Performer, Sax (Tenor), Hilliard Ensemble: Performer.

It's been six years since these same performers got together to create one of the decade's more unusual experiments in musical alchemy. Beginning with the raw materials of early music and modern jazz, the four male voices of the Hilliard Ensemble joined with jazz saxophonist Jan Garbarek to see what would happen when the proper measure of old music and new style were combined, shaped by the performers' considerable experience and collective aesthetic vision. The success of that recording, titled Officium, and subsequent concert performances paved the way for this second effort, continuing the performers' search for artistically meaningful, musically satisfying combinations of written music and improvisatory elements. The odd title of the new recording comes from a mystical poem by Friedrich Hölderlin, quoted in the liner notes and accompanied by pictures from Ingmar Bergman's The Seventh Seal. Officium aficionados will notice that Mnemosyne is even more adventurous in its explorations, which range farther and farther from the printed page. Musical fragments and a general outline are the starting points for several pieces. Improvisation is more frequently and freely employed, but always adheres to an agreed stylistic framework. Alongside a Tallis hymn or a chant by Hildegard, we hear Iroquois and Peruvian song fragments, an ancient Greek tune, and a beautiful lullaby by Veljo Tormis. Garbarek's tasteful improvisations are appropriate additions, inspired commentaries. The Hilliards are even better than on Officium; their awareness and sensitivity brings everything together into a truly unified expression that shows the timelessness of music and reminds us that where rhythm, melody, and musical imagination join, different styles, centuries, and genres are not necessarily obstacles to compatibility. –David Vernier

Track Listing:

CD 1

1 Quechua Song (7:10)
2 O Lord in Thee Is All My Trust (5:09)
3 Estonian Lullaby (1:58)
4 Remember Me My Dear (6:30)
5 Gloria (6:03)
6 Fayrfax Africanus (4:05)
7 Agnus Dei (8:38)
8 Novus Novus (2:18)
9 Se Je Fayz Dueil (5:12)
10 O Ignis Spiritus (10:55)

CD 2

11 Alleluia Nativitatis (5:04)
12 Delphic Paean (4:46)
13 Strophe and Counter-Strophe (5:02)
14 Mascarades (5:02)
15 Loiterando (5:33)
16 Estonian Lullaby (2:01)
17 Russian Psalm (3:45)
18 Eagle Dance (4:48)
19 When Jesus Wept (3:22)
20 Hymn to the Sun (7:30)

Jan Garbarek & The Hilliard Ensemble - Mnemosyne